How annoying is iTunes with albums - can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by horrgakx, Dec 5, 2007.

1. horrgakx macrumors member

horrgakx

Hi - I'm new to iTunes after buying an iPhone.

I'm trying to upload music to the iPhone but the organisation is completely beyond logic. I've added some screenshots below to demonstrate what the issue is. Can anyone help please?

I have this option ticked;
    [​IMG]

Ok, all the songs are listed under the same album...
    [​IMG]

Why do I have a graphic thinggiemebob for each track?
    [​IMG]

See how it is grouping them?
    [​IMG]

All I want to do is have an album name for ALL my music, and if I click it then it opens the tracks. Why does iTunes have to be so obtuse?

2. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

Just clearing up some things first: those 'graphic thingys' is the album art for albums/songs which don't currently have any album art.

Right, I don't know how that 'Group Compilations when browsing' option actually works, but when using that view in iTunes it always groups by album name AND artist. So a new album starts when the artist is different from the one before.

The solution is simple. Just select the whole compilation, get the info for all of them, then enter something relevant into the 'Album Artist' field.

3. horrgakx thread starter macrumors member

horrgakx

Ok that hasn't worked, I have the same entry in the fields "Artist", "Album Artist" and "Album". However on the phone if I go to "Albums" it lists the names of the individual 100 tracks.
    Oh, and I altered the "info" on all 100 songs a few times to try & get it working and each and every time it updated the files to the iPhone by *copying* them across again. AAAH FFS! :mad:

[EDIT] Tried with another album, same thing, under the iPhone iPod "Albums" category all the individual track names are listed, NOT the album names - and I've manually set it in the "info" on iTunes...