how are apple monitors?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by joytime365, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. joytime365 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #1
    Do you have any experience with Apple monitor, how are they? Why they are that expensive, I have noticed that a deal on a 20" apple monitor is $560.
     
  2. threeloaves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #2
    $560 isn't really a deal. check ebay, the refurbs, and google.
     
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    I absolutely love my 23" Apple Cinema Display.

    The quality is great compared to many of the LCDs I have been forced to look at.
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    They are very good, though they lack some "future-proofing" features like HDCP as well as some nice tools like iSight.
     
  5. joytime365 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #5
    If you know nay good deal on it please tell me, thanks all for your responses.
     
  6. mBurns macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I'm using an older style Apple LCD screen.. it's better than most I have modern LCDs I have encountered.
     
  7. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #7
    Love mine (have two of 'em). Best monitors I've ever used. I don't know why they're that expensive....mainly because people will buy them at that price, I suppose.
     
  8. vga4life macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #8
    Apple monitors are overpriced.

    30" is the way to go, and HP's or either of Dell's current models are better than Apple's. (Forget the Samsung 305T, though.)

    I picked up a brand new HP LP3065 for ~$1000 from eBay last week. It has 3 DVI inputs, HDCP support, and a 92% NTSC gamut S-IPS panel. Why spend twice that for Apple's panel which has the same panel and one non-HDCP input?
     
  9. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #9
    Apple's monitors are over priced and lack any features.

    The Gateway FHD2400 is my choice for value, quality and features.
     
  10. iFizz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Third planet from the star called "Sun"
    #10
    How are Apple's displays?

    Overpriced. In need of a refresh.
     
  11. TransientWolf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #11
    Sexy as hell......!? :D

    It depends what you want.

    I have a 30" ACD and love it. I use it with my Mac Pro and it does what it says on the tin.

    I don't need more than 1 input cos I only have 1 Mac Pro (what do other people use the extra inputs for by the way?), I dont need HDCP as I watch movies in my lounge, and I was happy to pay a premium for what I still say is the nivest looking monitor on the market.

    OK built in iSight would be convenient but an external iSight camera is better quality anyway with autofocus and higher res (I think - feel free to correct me) even if you do have to pay silly prices on eBay to find one.
     
  12. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #12
    PS3.
     
  13. vga4life macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #13
    A desktop + a laptop, in my case. Multiple inputs matter more with 30" displays because dual-link DVI switches are mega expensive.
     
  14. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    I use a pair of 23" ACDs, calibrated with a Huey Pro. I've been using Apple's displays since 2004, and they've been pretty darn good every time.

    I will admit that they lack inputs, and HDCP is needed on a refresh - but, as a monitor that does the job, they do it well. Oh, and the Firewire hubs are useful as well.
     
  15. johnsy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #15
    How can you use 30" display? I mean it looks cool and might be used as tv replacement, but use it as display? I have 24" iMac and get a headache once in a while because I am either too close to monitor or too far. It just too big for most of the time.
     
  16. iPapa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #16
    I have a 23 incher. Perfect size, excellent colours. Nice design. Great and overpriced display, and slightly outdated concerning inputs. Yet highly recommended.

    My display seems to have an odd grainly coating. The grainy stuff is static, and can easily be seen when I move windows around, particularly if the windows contain light colours. I've seen this on other ACDs too, so it might be normal. It really is visible only if I focus on it.

    The inputs: I use mine for a couple of iPods, an external iSight (FW), and the alu keyboard.
     

Share This Page