How big is the first Time Machine backup?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gaelinic, Sep 22, 2009.

1. Gaelinic macrumors regular

I purchased a late 2008 Macbook pro model in January. It was 2.5 ghz, 2 gigs ram, and 250 gb hard drive. And, it failed three weeks ago. After going back and forth Apple finally replaced it with a new higher end model; 2.66 ghz, 4gig ram, and 350 gb drive. I was quite satisfied with the upgrade. I used Migration Assistant to transfer data from the old Mac's Time Machine backup. Everything looks like it was uploaded to the new Mac. I'm a Mac newbie and just had a few questions.

1) The new Mac has Snow Leopard while the old one had Leopard. Using Migration Assistant, will everything work the same? Should I be worried about losing some information or some applications not working correctly?

2) I want to start a fresh time machine backup using my new computer. Can I erase the file titled "My Macbook.sparsebundle" on my time capsule? It contains the backup files from my old Mac. Now that they were transfered over, I don't believe I need them anymore. I'd rather start a fresh back up. What are your thoughts on that? If I erase this file, does it leave any ghost traces of files on my time capsule? I'd rather not format the disk since I also have a large amount of music and video files on the hard drive.

3) I noticed last night when it was doing a fresh back up that the Time machine backup file was 4 times larger than what I had on my hard drive. In other words, I have a bout 4 gigs on my Macintosh HD. But Time Machine was creating a backup file that was about 16 gigs. Is that normal for a first time backup or is something wrong with the way it is doing it?

Thank you.

Gaelinic

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Yes.

No.

Yes. When a new OS is released, there are always a few applications that don't work properly. There's nothing you can do about that but find interim replacements or wait for updates.

Yes.