How can i build a table with inner loop and only one query call.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by rdillman, Sep 23, 2010.

1. rdillman macrumors newbie

Hello all, Long time reader, first time poster.

I'm fairly new to PHP coming from CFML and I'd like to do something that seems to me very basic for web apps but as yet have not found any way of doing it.

I need to de-normalize a stack of tables and pull both orders and the items into one query.
    Resulting in something like the following. Obviously there is a lot more but this gives the general idea.
    Order_ID Item_ID
    208 23935
    208 23950
    208 23957
    214 24148
    214 24156

My output should have one row per order with an inner loop over the items in that order. Something like this.

<table>
    <?php
    //outer loop
    echo '<tr>';
    echo '<td>'.$Order_ID.'</td>';
    echo '<td>';
    //inner loop
    echo $Item_ID.'<br />';
    //end inner loop
    echo '<br /></td>';
    echo '</tr>';
    //end outer loop
    ?>
    </table>

I hope this isn't too terribly complicated. How would someone go about this?
    Apache 2.0 php 5.2 mysql 5.1.44

2. ddh716 macrumors newbie

How about using an array?

You could take the results of your query and put them in an array, then walk through the array (which might be easier than walking through the query results directly, but a few more lines of code). Something like:

PHP:
    $orders = array();    // an array keyed on order id

//run the query - then walk through the results - something like:
    while($row mysql_fetch_assoc($results))
    {
        if(!isset(
    $orders[$row["orderId"]))    // have we seen this order before?

{

$orders[$row["orderId"]] = array();    // add the orderId to the array

}

$orders[$row["orderId"]][] = $row["itemId"];  // add this item to the array
    }

// now walk through the array and build the table
    print("<table>");
    foreach(
    $orders AS $thisOrderId => $items)
    {
        print(