How can I change the Finder icon without Candybar?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by HawaiiMacAddict, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #1
    Aloha everyone,

    I was trying to do the "free" thing to change the Finder icons. I renamed the original icon to "Finder_orig.icns" in /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources, then copied the replacement .icns file there. The new icon appears in the CoreServices folder, but the Dock still shows the original (see the attachments). Has anyone else attempted this, and if so, can you tell me where I'm going wrong? Does the icon have to be a specific size?

    Mahalo in advance for your responses,

    HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
  3. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #3
    Aloha ergdegdeg,

    Thanks for the response - I'd forgotten about that app.

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  4. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #4
    Aloha again ergdegdeg,

    I just tried it and everything is A-OK now! Thanks again for the reminder. I don't understand what that app does that I did not, however. I replaced the icon and killall'd both the Finder and the Dock, so I should have completed the same steps as the app. Oh well, at least I can change the icons to my liking :D

    HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
  6. martychang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #6
    Hey, could you share that old-style OS X Finder icon? I had always thought from the screenshots it looked better and hadn't though it'd be easy to replace the icon until now.
     
  7. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #7
  8. Mashiach macrumors regular

    Mashiach

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    In a House Near the Sea
    #8
    I have wanted to do this for a while.
    The only thing I'm worried about with third party apps (ive heard you can do it with terminal as well) is that because they change system settings it can cause problems when doing software updates.
    Any one know if this is true
    Cheers
     
  9. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #9
    I've been using LiteIcons for a while now and changed several defaults and so far have not had a problem. I think it's pretty safe.
     
  10. Heliconsoul macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #10
    Is there any chance you could send me or link the icon file please? Every time I use img2icns with that jpg it keeps the white background >.>
     
  11. skiesforme macrumors 6502

    skiesforme

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #11
    x2. Works great !
     

Share This Page