How can I check my RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BlindSoul, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #1
    Hello,

    I've just installed new RAM I've bought on eBay.
    and I was wondering if there are any tests possible to do for Mac.
    ( Simple things not something complicated gotta burn and all ).

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    If the machine boots and all RAM is seen in Activity Monitor, then there is no need to do anything.
     
  4. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #4
    BS to all of the above.

    http://memtest.org/
    Download the latest ISO, burn it to CD, and boot from it.

    or

    http://kelleycomputing.net/rember/
    Copy it into your applications folder, then boot in single user mode
    /Applications/Rember.app/Contents/Resources/memtest all 10


    Anything that tests your RAM while booted into OS X is necessarily going to be a bad RAM test--including Rember. You have to have as small of an OS footprint as possible so that as much of your RAM as possible is being tested.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
  6. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #6
    Your link pretty well backed me up. Memtest86+ is a free alternative to Memtest86, but it looks and works almost exactly the same. Both boot to a DOS CD.

    Also, just like I said, the Mac-based software should be run from single-user mode.
     
  7. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #7
    What do you mean a Single user mode? How can I boot as a single user mode?

    Thank you!
     
  8. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #8
    I didn't say because I expected you either already knew or would find a great discussion with ten seconds of googling.

    Boot the machine holding command-s. it drops you to a command prompt immediately.
     

Share This Page