How can I delete this device? (with images)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Fnando, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Fnando macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    #1
    I cant delete this device called "Backups do Time Machine". No, there is not a Backup of my iMac. This divice use 200Gb of my memory and i want to put this memory in my "Macintosh HD" as was before when i bought my iMac.
    Plese help me.

    Thank you =D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. itsamacthing macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Bangkok
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    It seems to be a separate partition of an internal drive. Open Applications / Utilities / Disk Utility (I do not know the proper names in Portuguese though) and make a screenshot of what it shows there.

    Btw, "memory" is not the same as "hard drive / storage capacity":
     
  4. Fnando thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    #4
    I put my system in english to help!

    Here is the screen shot!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Yeah, however this has happened, two partitions on one HDD, you or someone else with access to your Mac had to do it. It is also not advisable to backup to the same HDD you backup from, even if it is to another partition on that same HDD.

    Anyway, select the upmost entry beginning with "1 TB ..." and go to the Partitions tab and then select the bottom partition with that name "Backups do ..." and click the MINUS button to remove it. Then when that is done, grab the small bottom right corner of the upper partition "Macintosh HD" and drag it downwards to expand that partition. You then have to hit APPLY in order to get it done. It should take some minutes.

    Also know, that all data on "Backups do ..." will be deleted.
     
  6. Fnando thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    #6
    I did that but look what happend!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  8. Fnando thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
  10. Fnando thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    #10
    I dont have external HDD so i cant do anything?
     
  11. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #11
    Not sure if it's going to fix your problem, but boot in single-user mode:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1492

    And when you are at the prompt, type "fsck -ffy" without the quotes then press enter.

    When its over, type either "exit" or "reboot" to get back to normal mode.
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    "I dont have external HDD so i cant do anything?"

    This is off-topic, but you should consider getting an external drive for backup.

    I would suggest partitioning the external, and
    - use one partition for a CarbonCopyCloner bootable backup, and
    - use the other for a Time Machine backup

    There is nothing that can beat having a second drive to boot from, in an emergency….
     

Share This Page