How can i go back to 2.1 from 2.2?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Vegastouch, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    Tried the dev teams upgrade to 2.2 on my 2G. Had it unlocked already and it upgraded to 2.2 fine and was still unlocked and things worked fine.

    Went to jailbreak it using quickpwn and it would just sit there trying to get to DFU mode saying it was prepring the phone but never went forward.
    So.....after 15 minutes i just stoppped quickpwn and had to do a restore in i Tunes and now it is restored with 2.2 but says it needs to be activated.

    I have tried three times to go through the quickpwn process and all 3 times it does the same thing.

    My bad, i shoulda just waited for the bugs to be out of quickpwn but figured the dev team got it right . Jailbreak just wouldnt wor for me.

    Now i just would like to go back to 2.1 if i can and just wait till 2.2 is fool proof.

    How can i do that?
     
  2. LoMonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like you're using one of the new unibody MacBooks. Are you?
     
  3. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3
    No, just a PC
     
  4. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #4
    You CAN'T USE QuickPwn for advanced JB/Unlock. You must use PwnageTool and follow the guides at iClarified.com.

    I knew we'd be fielding a lot of these posts when QuickPwn was first released and sure enough...
     
  5. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    No Idea, I'd like to know also. Stupid 2.2. I just want to go back to 2.1 where everything was perfect. now I gotta live with this retarted POS where I can't even use CATEGORIES and I have to restore as a NEW PHONE to get all of my apps back :/ :mad:
     
  6. Bear Hunter macrumors 6502a

    Bear Hunter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #6
    Categories works fine for me :confused:
     
  7. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #7
    Its not in Cydia. Is it from the BigBoss source? cuz i have NOTHING under BigBoss for 2.2
     
  8. Bear Hunter macrumors 6502a

    Bear Hunter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #8
    I don't remember what source it was. Just go in an add the sources you had last time and do a search.

    EDIT: Yes you should see it in "Featured apps" on the main screen.
     
  9. Aephel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    Thats what you get for upgrading. YOU NEED to do your homework before upgrading.
     
  10. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #10
    I did do my homework. Read everything from the dev team and did what they said to do.
    I have a 2G and it says to upgrade through iTunes, ....which i did then use quickpwn. That was it, no need for pwnnage but it doesnt go to DFU mode for me. It stays in preparing your decvice where you have to hold the home button and then home and power button...doesnt let me get that far. I have waited 10 to 15 minutes and it stays there. It shouldnt take that long.

    Now, i have my simm card in there , iTunes says the simm isnt supported yet i have a t-mobile logo in my left corner and will only let me make emergency calls and still looks to be in restore mode after restoring through itunes.
     
  11. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    Not according to the Dev team. For 2G they said upgrade from iTunes and just use quickpwn.

    So nobody knows how to downgrade to 2.1?
     
  12. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #12
    I could be mistaken but isn't there a baseband upgrade that comes with 2.2 that will not allow you to go back to any previous firmwares?
     
  13. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    According to the dev team, the baseband upgrade is only on the 3G and it will prevent you from unlocking it. It doesnt upgrade the baseband on the 2G ...which is what i have.
     
  14. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    OK, i downloaded the quickpwn from iclarified and everything worked great as far as the jailbreak and unlock. Cydia is working fine.

    Have to reconfigure my T-Mobile internet settings and find the things i need for swirlyMMS but so far so good.
     
  15. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #15
    It worked fine for me, as well as many others.

    Have you considered the possibility that the problem is on your end?
     
  16. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    Could of been i guess but i didnt do anything different and had tried about 5 different times including twice more today til i tried iclarified. Dont know...just glad it worked :)
     
  17. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003

Share This Page