How can I install 2 Windows Operating systems on mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by BagelBoy445, May 16, 2014.

  1. BagelBoy445 macrumors newbie

    BagelBoy445

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Location:
    probably somewhere I shouldn't be
    #1
    is it possible to install windows 7 and 8? without paralels or a VM
     
  2. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
  3. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
  4. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #5
    I've done it on my Mac Pro. Your mileage may vary, but this is how I did it:

    Opened Disk Utility
    Clicked on the name of the drive (in my case, 1 TB TOSHIBA)
    Went to Partition
    Clicked the "+" button near the bottom left
    Added 2 partitions
    Resized them
    Kept the partition scheme as GUID
    Changed the format from "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" to ExFAT
    Named both
    Restarted the computer with the Windows disc in the CD drive while holding down the Option key
    Selected the CD named "Windows"
    Booted straight into the installer

    Of course, before I did that I download the Windows drivers from Apple's site.

    The only downside is whenever I boot into Windows, it asks me which I want to boot. The best way is to use System Prefs on the Mac to select to boot from the Windows partition (SP will only show 1 unified Win Partition). It will always ask, however it defaults to Win 8. If I want to boot Win 7, I have to select it from the menu Win 8 pulls up during boot. The computer then has to reboot and if I didn't use Sys Prefs, I have to hold the Option key back down and select the Windows partition.

    Also, if you do this, you have to install Windows 7 first. This sets up the BIOS emulator. If you install 8 first, it might not work due to EFI.
     
  5. ddmcnair macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #6
    From the previous post

    "Also, if you do this, you have to install Windows 7 first. This sets up the BIOS emulator. If you install 8 first, it might not work due to EFI."

    Woe...If you install 8 first? NOOOOOOOOOOO, avoid 8, it is horrible. Install 7 first, then if you need to install something newer go with Win 10. Avoid 8 like the plague.:eek:
     
  6. BagelBoy445 thread starter macrumors newbie

    BagelBoy445

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Location:
    probably somewhere I shouldn't be
    #7

    This is a pretty old post (2014) and as such, windows 10 did not yet exist. Also I recommend you do not bump old threads as it may be against the rules. (not sure but just a guess) Anyways my problem has been solved for a while.
     

Share This Page