How can I make Leopards menu bar look like Tigers?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Will Cheyney, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I know there is the option to turn off the transparency of the Leopard menu bar, but I want it to look just like the Tiger one (see below):

    [​IMG]

    Is there a nice app that does this for you, or am I in for some resource editing?



    Thanks all!
     
  2. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    System Preferences-->DeskTop & Screensaver--> Tick OFF Translucent Menu Bar.

    Beautiful backdrop btw... Have you a link to it?

    edit.. never mind... just saw you knew that already haha... (slightly inebriated here) My question still stand though. :)
     
  3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3
    Onyx can do that for you, among a wealth of other useful things
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #4
    1) thats not what he asked

    2) thats a background on your Mac.

    To answer your question, I don't think you can change it without doing some mods. As I don't play around with my dock and appearance, I can't help you there

    Really? *opens Onyx*

    Oh yeah =)
     
  5. Will Cheyney thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Thanks, but as I said, I know there is the option to switch off transparency. I am looking for a solution that make the menu bar look how it did in Mac OS 10.4 (Tiger). The menu bar is a 'glossy' white, and the Apple icon is aqua blue.

    The shot above is one I found on someone's Flickr, they have managed to successfully do it [so I don't know where the desktop image is from, sorry!]
     
  6. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Yeah.. read his post incorrectly the first time... too much wine... doh :D

    It's not the same....
     
  7. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #7
    Get Onyx, Click Parameters and then click 'Finder'

    The option is there for Grey, Transparent or White.

    Oh yeah.. Hmm.. is it a Windows one then? Sure I've seen some Vista's with it
     
  8. Will Cheyney thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Thanks guys, but my quest is still on...
    Onyx gives you the option for 'white' but this isn't the glossy white of Tiger I'm looking for...

    :eek:
     
  9. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #9
  10. Live Steam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #10
    I came across a simple app that would edit the characteristics of the menu bar which allowed the used to change it's color and transparency. I'll see if I can find it again and post. It gave the ability to use multiple colors and various shading aspects.
     
  11. lamadude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Brussels, BE
    #11
  12. geoffbruno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Magnifique!

    I was able to install a theme called UNO-AE in Magnifique that almost exactly replicated the Tiger Menu Bar (to an astonishing degree). Make sure that once you install the theme you turn off transparency in system preferences and restart all of your applications (including Finder). Here are the results:

    NOTE: This theme will not curve the menu bar as it is in this screen shot. To do that, I used a utility called Displaperture and set it up to run at login. It also will not give you the tiger style dock shown here. To do this, you must replace files in the resources folder of the dock in Core Services and switch the dock to 2D.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page