How can I play HDV on my mac?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Gloor, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. Gloor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I have some footage we took at school with HD camera and I can't play it on my mac. It's in .mov format but it shows me HDV 1080i50 i movie info. I have quicktime pro and perian but I can only hear sound. No picture. Any ideas?
     
  2. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #2
    Try importing into iMovie? (Open iMovie, plug in cam, it should see it.) I doubt however that your monitor will display it at HD resolution, but correct me if I'm wrong.
    EDIT I see you have a 30" ACD which is HD.
     
  3. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #3
    iMovie doesn't allow me to select it when I try to import it. Unfortunately, I don't have the camera with me anymore. We shot it at school and all I have now are files on a dvd :)
     
  4. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #4
  5. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #5
    Weird. Maybe try converting them with iSquint or something? Even try changing the file ending to .mp4 or something; sometimes that works. Alternatively, download extra plugins for QuickTime, initially my friend's MBP wouldn't play a .mov file, but then we went here and got DivX and Xvid, which did the trick. Cheers
    EDIT Also FCP or FCE might handle it better than QuickTime does; another friend's HD files wouldn't play until imported with FCP.
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    You might need FCP to get the HDV codec.


    Lethal
     
  7. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    FCP is expensive just for a HDV codec.. surely that codec is avaiable without FCP.
     
  8. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #8
    FCE? Too bad there's no demo/ trial. If the videos work through it though, it might be worth the upgrade, less pricey than FCP but still very good and significantly better than iMovie. Still, give those extra codecs a try first.
    notsofatjames, please get rid of all the empty space in your sig...
    Oh.
     
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Some codecs only come w/FCP (such as ProRes). HDV may or may not be in the same boat since both iMovie and FCE do not work w/HDV natively (they transcode it into AIC).


    Lethal
     
  10. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #10
    Ok, so far what I have tried. VLC, QT, Perian, WMP, Flip4Mac, Divx, Xvid, iMovie and none of it was able to play video. Only sound. I don't have FCP so I really don't know what to do. Any ideas? Thanks for your help so far.
     

Share This Page