How can I protect my Mac?

jrv3034

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 23, 2002
Hello, all. I was surfing on another forum, and someone's signature showed a little graphic with my router's IP address, ISP, and browser programs (see below).

Should I be concerned? Am I vulnerable in some way? The OSX firewall is turned on, and I'm connected to a wireless router that's password protected. Is that not enough? Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

Attachments

tubedogg

macrumors regular
Dec 18, 2003
Minnesota
Every single website you visit has access to all that information and more - that is how the internet works. The site you are visiting must know your IP address to know where to send the page; determining the ISP is a simple database check of the IP address. Your browser (user agent) is passed with every page view as well.

TheSith

macrumors regular
Nov 17, 2004
I would not worry about it.

I am an administrator on a fansite discussion community and we don't allow those images in peoples' signatures at all. Not because they are particularly dangerous, but because people panic about such private information being displayed to them on a public board.

Okay, so maybe an IP isn't the most dangerous thing to post but things like that are just unneeded.

Don't worry, I see those quite often and you should be perfectly fine.

aswitcher

macrumors 603
Oct 8, 2003
Canberra OZ
jrv3034 said:
Hello, all. I was surfing on another forum, and someone's signature showed a little graphic with my router's IP address, ISP, and browser programs (see below).

Should I be concerned? Am I vulnerable in some way? The OSX firewall is turned on, and I'm connected to a wireless router that's password protected. Is that not enough? Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

I am hoping Tiger gives us a better firewall / better control and monitoring of internet services, but even then - as discussed by others - all this info is available de to the way the TCP/IP works.

toezter