How can I remotely shutdown a Windows computer over WIFI from a Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by shehanigans, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. shehanigans macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #1
    I have a MacBook pro and I would like to be able to shut down a Windows 7 computer connected to the same wifi. Please be detailed. Thanks
     
  2. D.T. macrumors 604

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #2
    You mean shut it down like it’s just up and running (and you currently don’t have access to the machine)?

    ... or do you mean you want to have remote access (so you can shut it down, reboot, access the system/console like you’re sitting at the machine), and you can currently access/install/config remote access on the Winders© machine?
     
  3. shehanigans thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    #3
    Yes, it is up and running and I want to be able to shut it down.
     
  4. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #4
    Ok I will play. So if both machines are on the same wifi why can't you physically shut it down? And second question, why do you want to shut it off.
     
  5. hiddenmarkov, Dec 14, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014

    hiddenmarkov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    have an account with remote access rights on the windows box

    install Cygwin on the windows box.

    This gets you ssh ability as its not supported on windows natively. You want SSH NOT telnet. Telnet is not secure. You can skip this step and use telnet but its a very bad idea. Of importance to you is telnet passes passwords in plaint text. Never a good thing over wifi, nor wired even.



    open terminal on mac type:

    ssh that_account_above@IPaddress (ip address of windows box)


    put in password of account when prompted


    now you are ssh'd into windows box at CLI level. To shutdown:


    shutdown /s




    edit: or.....

    download apple;s free remote desktop tool, use that account that has remote access as credentials in the app and get remote desktop up and shutdown like you would normally. Command line you will find much faster
     
  6. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #6
    Normally when connected through Remote Desktop you don't get "Shutdown" when you click on Start then look at that menu, you only get logoff and disconnect. To shut down, you would do a CTRL-ALT-END (from a Windows computer) or CTRL-ALT-DEL (I believe, from a Mac) and from that screen click the red shutdown button in the bottom right.
     

Share This Page