How can I run PC-CD games on my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by FearedBliss, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. FearedBliss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #1
    I am wondering on how to run these games on my Mac, they are supported but I just don't have the Mac-CD/DVD of them. My local store does not sell Mac games, only PC :(.

    Age of Empires 3 - Purchased it recently but cannot install it on mac due to no Mac installer on them.

    Age of Empires : Gold Edition - Same as above

    Age of Empires 2 : Age of Kings & The Conquerors - Same as above.

    World of Warcraft - SOLVED ( Was using my custom-made all in one PC-ONLY DVD )

    Halo : Combat Evolved - Same as above.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    If it's the PC version, you have to run it in Windows. Fortunately, Macs can do that these days. ;)
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Warcraft should have a Mac installer on it. The others would depend on what Mac you have. If you have an Intel Mac then you could use Bootcamp Assistant and install a (legitimate) copy of Windows on your Mac and play them in there.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Crossover works with some Windows apps, just check the compatibility list :)

    Otherwise, Boot Camp is the way to go...
     
  5. Zedsdead185 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    If these are all labelled as PC CD/DVD ROM games then there is no way that you can install them on mac osx. You would have to actually buy new ones labelled with mac.
    I thought that WOW was a hybrid disc. My WOW Box says it can install on both the mac and pc.
     
  6. FearedBliss thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #6
    Yea I already have them installed on my Intel iMac via Boot Camp, It works great, but I wanted to install them on my mac.
     
  7. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
  8. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #8
    What you need to do is download the game image files (from I wont say where). I believe this is legal anyway, since you own copies of the games and you paid good money for them. The serial numbers will work in both PC and Mac DVDs.

    I did this with Command and Conquer 3, since they released the mac version much later than the PC version and I just couldn't wait that long. I also did it with UT2004 and warcraft 3: frozen throne (since my wc3 CDs were scratched and wouldn't install). All of them work fine and play online since my serial number is legit.
     
  9. FearedBliss thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #9
    That's a good idea, but unfortunately not all the games can be found :(.
     
  10. QuantumBios4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    #10

Share This Page