How can I split a thunderbolt port?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Jas123, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. Jas123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    I've been looking at hubs, but the two main ones I found, one by elgato and the other by belkin, only have 2 thunderbolt ports, which doesn't really help at all.

    Any product suggestions?

    Why don't they make hubs with more ports.
     
  2. mgipe macrumors demi-god

    mgipe

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    Thunderbolt devices are connected serially. Each device has two ports so you can chain them together.
     
  3. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Why do you want extra ports, why doesn't daisy chain work for you? You can connect 7-8, maybe more thunderbolt devices to one computer port via daisy chain, no splitter or hub required. Similar to SCSI or firewire. Its not like USB.
     
  4. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #4
    I thought the limit to the daisy chain was 6 devices?
     
  5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
  6. Jas123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #6
    My problem is that I have an iMac and two dell monitors connected to the available ports. So I can't really daisy chain :confused:
     
  7. ColdCase, Mar 10, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #7
    Displays are display port, sometimes HDMI, not thunderbolt. Display port also runs over TB and uses the same connection, but is a bit different.

    In order to run two displays on a single TB port, one display must be a TB display, like the apple thunderbolt display. Otherwise you must grab a $$$ TB expansion chassis and a Video card that in turn drives multiple displays. You can daisy chain a thunderbolt device (like an Apple Display) with a display port device, but the display port device must be at the far end of the chain.
     
  8. hkoster1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Make sure your next Thunderbolt device, like an external HD, has two Thunderbolt ports, so that you can daisy-chain one of the Dell monitors to that second TB port. These monitors, being Displayport devices, must be at the end of a Thunderbolt chain.
     
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #9
    Because TB is just not designed to work like that.
     

Share This Page