How can I tell?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by teeforb, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. teeforb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #1
    How can I tell if airport is in B, G, or Draft N wireless and 10, 100, or 1G bit Ethernet connections? I have a MacBook!!!

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    What MacBook do you have (when was it purchased)?

    Any MacBook with a Core2Duo processor has a draft-N airport card and a gigabit ethernet port. Before that, MacBook included a 802.11g card with gigabit ethernet.
     
  3. teeforb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #3
    It's the new one. I purchased it a few months ago. The black one. I just got a DLink 655 router and I can not tell which mode the MacBook is in.
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Go to Apple Menu==>About this Mac, if it says Core Duo then you have a wireless g card, and giga (1000) bit ethernet. If it says Core 2 Duo you have a wireless n card, and giga (1000) bit ethernet.
     
  5. teeforb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #5
    Sorry, I guess I worded my question wrong. My MacBook does support Draft N and 1Gigbit Ethernet. I want to know how can I tell if it is running in either Draft N, G, or B mode while running wireless or 10, 100, or 1Gigabit mode when running wired.

    Sorry for the confusion!!!

    Thanks!!!
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    It runs on all modes. It will run at the highest speed of the hardware it is connected to. Thus, if it connects to a G network it will run at G speed, if it connected to an N network it will run at N speed, etc.

    Edit: Also note that your internet speed is more than likely slower than a B,G, and N speeds, so your internet speed will be the same no matter which network mode you run. The only difference will be the speed in which computers on your network can transfer data between each other.
     
  7. teeforb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #7
    But how can I tell?

    For example, the 655 router mentioned that if I was to run WEP, then it will only run B, and G wireless and not N. Therefore, if I would have never came across that, I would be would not know that my system is not running in Draft N mode while using WEP. Therefore, I would like to know from my MacBook what mode I am running in to make sure.
     
  8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Yes, but how can you tell if you're connected at b, g, or n? ...or 10/100/1000 ethernet?
    I've been looking and I can't find it anywhere.
     
  9. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #9
    Me neither, looked in the two obvious places, System Prefs->Network and System Profiler and didn't see anything
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Network Utility in the Utilities folder should give you the link speed.
     
  11. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    For ethernet (en0) at least, entering ifconfig in terminal will tell you the current speed. For example, for me it says:
    media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>) status: active


    EDIT:
    Fine, do it the easy way. :D
     
  12. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I wouldn't run WEP, its broken, WPA security is far more secure, and it has less problems.
     
  13. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3B48b Safari/419.3)

    I think the only way to tell would be to check the specs of the router you're on. Sorry but I can't help you otherwise. Out of curiosity, why do you need to know?
     
  14. teeforb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #14
    Just to make sure I am getting my moneys worth from my book and router, LOL. Even if technically, I am not getting more throughput using the Draft N or Gigabit Ethernet, I wanna still be using it if I paid for it.
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15

    Mate, did you read the thread? There're a couple of ways of finding it out. :)
     

Share This Page