How can I upgrade to a no-longer signed iphone firmware?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by betito477, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. betito477 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #1
    my iphone 3gs is jailbroken on 4.0 and I want to upgrade and re-jailbreak again on the 4.0.1 firmware but itunes is giving me a (3194) error when trying to update. I got the 4.0.1 firmware from these forums in one of the stickys around here.

    is there a way around this so I can update to that firmware?
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    Unless you have the shsh blobs for 4.0.1 you're out of luck. There is absolutely no way to otherwise. Why only 4.0.1 if I may inquire?
     
  3. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #3
    I'd imagine its for the dummy-proof Jailbreakme jailbreak. LOL But yes you have to have the shsh blobs. Check out ifans.com for more info on this.
     
  4. betito477 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #4
    i wanted to use jailbreakme.com and that's the latest version they support.

    in cydia, at the top, it says "SHSH iOS 4.1, 4.2.1+, 4.3". The first one, 4.1, is not the same as 4.0.1 right?
     
  5. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #5
    Correct.
     
  6. betito477 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #6
    which jailbreak method would you recommend personally for newbies then for firmwares higher than 4.0.1? I want my phone baseband to stay unlockable though, don't want to upgrade too high.
     
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    Redsn0w will keep your current baseband intact up to 4.3.1 (4.3.2 JB isn't out yet).
     
  8. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #8
    IClarified.com is your friend. It has all the tutorials relate to Apple products.
     
  9. betito477 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
  10. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #10
    No. To use Redsnow, you need to first update the firmware => updating the baseband. If you want to update / restore and keep your baseband = possible unlock, you need to use a custom firmware file.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Correction, QS probably meant Pwnage tool.
    Redsnow wont keep your baseband intact but pwnage will.
    Use that to create a custom 4.3.1 ipsw
     

Share This Page