how can i use my old MB hd on a PC box?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by j5uh, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. j5uh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #1
    I recently upgraded my MB HD 80gig with a new 160gig. I ordered a external casing to use the old hd as a backup.

    when it's plugging into my MB it works fine... but when plugged into the PC it' doesn't even recognize it. Do I have to format it some way? or it's just not possible to use on a PC?
     
  2. mick4394 macrumors 6502a

    mick4394

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Flyover country
    #2
    You want to format it FAT32, probably. You could go NTFS, but for an external, FAT32 will allow you to use it with your Mac as well.
     
  3. j5uh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
  4. hircus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-west, USA
    #4
    Yes, but why don't you just format it on the PC? It should show up under "My Computer", just right-click and format. Otherwise, Control Panel -> Administrator Tools -> Computer Management lets you repartition and format the disk anyway you want.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    You can only format the drive to FAT32 for drives up to 32 GB in Windows.
     
  6. j5uh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #6
    it actually won't detect the drive at all =/ :confused:
     
  7. a456 macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #7
    Format it in Disk Utility on the Mac. Format it as MS-DOS - this will read on Mac and Windows Machines:

    "In Disk Utility, select the disk you want to format for Windows computers.
    Click Erase and choose MS-DOS File System from the Volume Format pop-up menu.
    Type a name for the disk.
    The name's maximum length is 11 characters.

    Click the Erase button, then click Erase again.
    You can also choose to partition a disk using a Windows partition scheme which formats the partitions in MS-DOS format."
     
  8. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #8
    Not sure why its not reading in windows, probably the format is os-x orientated. So if it is the formatting you could just get something like macdrive which should read the native os-x formatting
     
  9. hircus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-west, USA
    #9
    Ah, silly me. It's the old *internal* hard drive, right? So it would have been using GPT instead of the old-style partition tables. Windows should still detect it as an unpartitioned drive, assuming they do things correctly, which they might not. In which case, yes, format it on the Mac first.

    You might want to reformat as NTFS once Windows detects it -- there are third-party free tools to format >32GB as FAT32, but really, why? The 2GB-per-file limit is really annoying, and NTFS is a much better file system (and OS X can still read it anyway)
     
  10. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #10
    actually just had a thought, you have got the drive plugged in correctly iirc 2.5" drives use a slightly different connector
     

Share This Page