How can I use the Migration Tool for transfering info from one Mac to another?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ozziegn, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #1
    I just bought a new iMac and I want to transfer some stuff from my MBP. I tried to run the Migration Tool but it keeps telling me to enter a code in the other computer. the problem is that I don't know where to enter that code on my other Mac. :(

    I'm trying to do this wirelessly because I don't have the right USB cable. can someone please point me in the right direction? I'm sure this is easy as heck...
     
  2. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  3. ozziegn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #3
    I can't transfer my info through my wireless network?
     
  4. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #4
    I don't think so, if you want to use Migration Assistant.
     
  5. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #5
    You can only do a data migration over your wireless network if you own a macbook air. Doing a data transfer over firewire already takes long enough if you have lots of files.
     
  6. Roquefort macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    U.S. west coast
    #6
    For wired transfers, Migration Tool is designed to have you boot the other Mac in "target disk mode", which simply means that the other Mac behaves like an external disk rather than a computer. (Macs have had this feature for years, and you can invoke it by powering on or restarting while holding down the T key.)

    With Migration Assistant, you connect the Firewire ports of the two Macs together and Migration Tool takes you step by step through the process.
     

Share This Page