Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JesseW6889

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 12, 2010
I have an iMac and a MBA, and I am trying to find a tuner of some sort that will allow me to watch tv on either one of them. The iMac boots into windows also, so even if it is a windows solution, that's fine.

I have an old Hauppage 950 tuner which I can't get to work, but I'm in the US and I don't understand anything about what's going on with the digital cable switch over or what... I also purchased an Elgato HD HomeRun which supports Clear QAM and ATSC (no idea what that means!)

I set up the HD HomeRun, but couldn't find any channels. Is it possible they're all blocked? I really have no idea what I'm doing, but I just want to watch tv on my 27" iMac :/

RMo

macrumors 65816
Aug 7, 2007
Iowa, USA
First, I'll explain the TV situation in the US. Digital TV, which is the current standard (and that in which all but a few legally exempted broadcasts use) is called ATSC. Older analog TV was broadcast in NTSC format. If all you plan on doing is watching over-the-air broadcasts, an ATSC tuner is your best bet. However, dual ATSC/NTSC is probably best, because if you plan on hooking up any other equipment (e.g., VCRs, cable boxes, etc.), they will probably output an NTSC signal, especially if they're older. (Some may also have RCA outputs--that is, the three red, yellow, and white connectors--while newer ones might do something nice like HDMI.)