How can I

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gregdrummeraz, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. gregdrummeraz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
    #1
    Quickly switch between osx and windows on my mac with out rebooting? is it true spaces can do this?

    I just want to be able to share fules with the PC partition and MAC partition. :)



    Thanks for any upcoming advice.


    Greg

    P.S. have not installed windows yet but was waiting to see if this was possible.


    Thanks again! :cool::apple::p
     
  2. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #2
    I think if you get a program like Parallels or VMWare Fusion. These are virtualization programs. Boot camp isnt. If you have one of those, i believe it opens up in another window, right on top of whatever your doing in OSX.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    You could install Parallels which, in a way, would allow spaces to allow you to switch between OSs.

    In fact, there's a great package of apps (including Parallels) on sale right now. (There's a link near the top of every page.)
     
  4. gregdrummeraz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
    #4
    Whats faster? VMware or parallels? :confused: I LOOOOOVE speed! :D
     
  5. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #5
    I wouldn't know. Personally I don't see why you would even want to run Windows (although i do really...) Read some reviews or ask people around in the forums. Create a poll and change the name of this thread.
     
  6. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #6
    Parallels can use your pre-existing bootcamp partition I believe.
    IDK if VMware can or not...
     
  7. vchalupa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #7
    Do you have to bootcamp Windows first before you run either Parallels or VM Fusion???
     
  8. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #8
    No. All you need is a valid version of Windows.
     
  9. Neo110503 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #9
    I have used both programs both in trial versions. I don't think i got the full features but i prefer VMware. It let you run the windows programs almost in a native sense.
     
  10. DarkMCS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #10
    I am using VMWare Fusion and I like it. It gets the job done...

    I never tried Parallel, but I guess it is as good as VMWare.
     
  11. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #11
    parallels will let you do this too...
    I suggest you just try both as they both have trials. Whichever you like best is the one for you.

    I dont think there is that big of a difference anymore though...
     
  12. gregdrummeraz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
    #12
    OK, well the main reason I am doing this is because I am wanting BADLY to play a game, command and conquer: red alert 2. :D. So I want to run UBUNTU(because free) inside of one of the emulator things(vm ware or parallels) and then use a WINE plugin(makes it able to run ALL winblows apps.


    Would it be very slow to emulate in an emulator.
     
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    VMWare and Parallels are both great, but I would say VMWare is a lot easier to understand. (however it's not like Parallels is anything hard to understand)
     
  14. gregdrummeraz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
  15. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    Ignore it.
     
  16. gregdrummeraz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
    #16


    So are you saying I can use win in ubuntu under parallels or VMware? :confused:
     
  17. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #17
    Windows in Ubuntu? ...Not sure I follow.

    I was merely suggesting that that post wasn't reliable for numerous reasons (which led to its removal).
     
  18. gregdrummeraz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, az
    #18
    :eek: How did you remove a post? so cool! I keep trying to install ubuntu but it wont let me, ima call it a day and try tomorrow.
     
  19. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #19
    If you're looking at installing Ubuntu, I'd go get VMware Fusion. VMware are used to virtual machines, and they've got some useful tools that make using ubuntu a lot easier (drag and drop files, switching Windows etc.)

    Now talking about running Windows IN Ubuntu...I don't see the point! With VMware you can run more than 1 virtual machine at once, so you can boot into Mac OSX then run Windows AND Ubuntu, which I do quite often, but you'll need a lot of RAM!

    As for playing games: the only real way is to use bootcamp.

    As for sharing files....you can get apps that can write to NTFS partitions, so you could get one of those, but VMware's drag and drop works great.
     
  20. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #20
    You dont need anything special if all you want to do is share files. I just click my windows partition thats on my mac desktop and steal files if I need.

    For games I use bootcamp and have the games on an eSata drive.
     
  21. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    It was removed by a moderator. You can report posts using the report post button to the left of every post ([​IMG]).
     

Share This Page