How can Leopard suddenly be using this much RAM?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Jack Flash, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #1
    Wow, post upgrade activities that used only 22% of my 2GB RAM now consume up to 58%

    Did something go wrong with my upgrade?
     
  2. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #2
    Did you just finish the upgrade process? 10.5 does a lot of stuff in the background after the first boot (such as spotlight indexing, time machine stuff, etc...). It won't be this bad after it completes all the tasks. They should really provide more warning about this because it is a little disconcerting at first.
     
  3. lord patton macrumors 65816

    lord patton

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    How are you seeing you're RAM usage? If you're using Activity Monitor, sort by the Real Memory column and find out. There are definitely some processes in Leopard that can eat up processor and RAM and never spit them out (syslogd, for one, kernal_task for another)

    edit: great. Something called bzip2 just ate all my processor. Killed it, we'll see if it wreaks havoc.
     
  4. Jack Flash thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #4
    If this is typical Leopard behavior, I'm not sure a stock MacBook could run it. I'm using well over 1GB of Memory simply surfing in Safari, listening to iTunes and leaving Mail open to check for new messages every 5 minutes.
     
  5. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    Swap is being more aggressively used. Right now I am using 1 GB of swap and 1 GB of RAM. All I have open is Mail, Safari, iChat and Skype. I think Mail is the culprit. But I am not too sure.
     
  6. Jack Flash thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #6
    Again, i really don't understand what this means.

    If I took out one of the 1GB sticks in my machine would it be unable to run Mail, Safari and iTunes all at once?

    Safari is using 300MB of physical RAM as I type this!
     
  7. Blubbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #7
    I dont understand why people worry so much about the ammount of ram used. Its what its there for. The only time that ram usage would be a problem is if you dont have enough ram to open or run an application. I have 2gb of ram, and i seriously dont have a problem with using 1.2 gb, just for havinig Opera, Azureus, Mail, iCal and Itunes open.
     
  8. Jack Flash thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #8
    Yeah but at this point I'm using more RAM than MacBooks come with stock and all Im doing is browsing the Internet, talking on iChat and listening to some music.
     
  9. Nightfall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #9
    Have heard Safari is a HUGE mem hog. Have you noticed what Firefox uses? :D
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    i really think your overreacting to this small problem. it shouldnt be bothering you, you have virtual memory there for a reason. this essentially allows you to have incredibly large amounts of RAM (Virtual memory is saved to the hard drive, it is slower to access).

    safari uses a hell of a lot of resources, thats one tiny reason why its snappier, because more things are loaded into RAM giving faster results. if you have large amounts of tabs or windows open it will chew through your RAM.

    i really wouldnt worry too much
     
  11. Jack Flash thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #11
    So, in the case of a MacBook with 1GB RAM, would the computer simply allocate more virtual memory?
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    yeap you've got it.
    my mbp is currently running on 12gb VM, my imac is using around 49gb while idle. the computer will automatically allocate it depending on your free HD space, and what programs you are running
     
  13. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #13
    In case you are interested:bzip2.
     
  14. bb10lue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #14
    PrintJobMgr eats a lottttt RAM, closed it under Activity monitor, now its down to 4% from 58%.:D
     

Share This Page