Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

douggorilla

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2008
I MUST know how to change the framerate of an mpeg file. I can't find any programs that can help me. Can someone help me? Thanks.

douggorilla

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2008
I got the hex edit program, but could someone show me how I could change the framerate using it?

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
I don't want to be rude, but did you read my post? Did you see where after I mentioned HexEdit, I followed it with a link leading to another webpage? Did you see me mentioning that there was relevant information on the webpage?

douggorilla

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2008
I saw all that stuff, but I don't get any of it, including the relevant info. I'm really a novice at best with these types of programs. I wish someone could just tell me in laments terms how I could use hexedit to do what I want to do.

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
Turns out it's been too long since I did it myself, since I had forgotten a very important step: first you need to split the file into separate audio and video streams.

Get bbDemux, get info on it and set it to open in Rosetta (the only way I could get it to work). Open your MPEG with that and you should get separate *.m1v and *.m1a.

Open the *.m1v file in HexEdit and you should see right at the start of the file "00 00 01 B3". The following eight numbers are what's important. I suggest you back up your *.m1v file first.

The number that sets the video is the last of the second group of eight. This should (according to theory) be a 3 in the file; change it to a 1. Save.

If you want you can open the *.m1v file in Quicktime to check the framerate.