How can you change the framerate of an .mpeg file from 25 fps to 23.976 fps?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by douggorilla, Jul 16, 2009.

1. douggorilla macrumors newbie

I MUST know how to change the framerate of an mpeg file. I can't find any programs that can help me. Can someone help me? Thanks.

2. jackerin macrumors 6502a

3. douggorilla thread starter macrumors newbie

I got the hex edit program, but could someone show me how I could change the framerate using it?

4. jackerin macrumors 6502a

I don't want to be rude, but did you read my post? Did you see where after I mentioned HexEdit, I followed it with a link leading to another webpage? Did you see me mentioning that there was relevant information on the webpage?

5. douggorilla thread starter macrumors newbie

I saw all that stuff, but I don't get any of it, including the relevant info. I'm really a novice at best with these types of programs. I wish someone could just tell me in laments terms how I could use hexedit to do what I want to do.

6. jackerin macrumors 6502a

Turns out it's been too long since I did it myself, since I had forgotten a very important step: first you need to split the file into separate audio and video streams.

Get bbDemux, get info on it and set it to open in Rosetta (the only way I could get it to work). Open your MPEG with that and you should get separate *.m1v and *.m1a.

Open the *.m1v file in HexEdit and you should see right at the start of the file "00 00 01 B3". The following eight numbers are what's important. I suggest you back up your *.m1v file first.

The number that sets the video is the last of the second group of eight. This should (according to theory) be a 3 in the file; change it to a 1. Save.

If you want you can open the *.m1v file in Quicktime to check the framerate.