How can you tell what OS version you have without being able to log in?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by btcomm, May 18, 2007.

  1. btcomm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #1
    How would I tell if I had 10.1 or 10.2 installed on a computer I am unable to log into? I guess 10.3 has the silver apple. This computer either has 10.0 10.1 or 10.2. It has a blue apple when it asks you to log in. I tried booting off of a 10.1 CD and when I tried to reset the password it says there were no users avaible. I guess that would mean it has 10.2 or the user settings are corrupted? Or would a 10.1 cd work to reset a 10.2 systems password? Or might it even be possible that this mac has 10.0?
     
  2. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

    SuperCompu2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    MA
    #2
    I believe all versions of OS X can reset passwords for other versions. This may only be the case for (10.0-10.2) and separate for the (10.3-10.4+) builds though.

    I really do not know of any way to check OS version w/o login. I guess some firmware line could do the trick, but this software dunce couldnt help you there.

    Good luck!
     
  3. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #3
    When you get to the login screen. Click just under "Mac OS X" where the computers name is displayed. Gives you all types of useful information, including OS version.
     
  4. btcomm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #4
    Well, when I get to the login screen. It does not say the computer name. I tried clicking on Mac OS X and I tried clicking right below it and it will not give me any info on the version.
     
  5. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    I believe you are correct about the blue Apple. Also, is there a grey Apple displayed in the center of the screen while the computer is booting? IIRC, this started with 10.2. If there is a happy Mac, then it's either 10.0 or 10.1.
     
  6. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
  7. btcomm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #7
    It is an older Imac, one one of the CRT ones. It has 512 MB of ram.

    If I boot off of an OS 10.2 cd I have the option to archive and install and the upgrade and install is grayed out. Can you do an archive and install preserving user and network settings if say I did have os 10.1 installed then booted off of a 10.2 cd?
     

Share This Page