How can't I paste coppied text as my file name?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stilly00, Jan 19, 2017.

  1. stilly00 macrumors newbie

    stilly00

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hello MacRumors Forum. I’ve seen this question asked many times on different forums, and it gets misinterpreted all the time. So I will try to be as specific as I can. Question: How can I copy a portion of text from a random source like (a word doc, a Illustrator file, Excell, or even the web) and paste it into the dialogue box as the file name when I save a file? “Command C” and “Command V” does not seem to work. I have attached Images to Illustrate my question.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    I can't tell clearly from your image. Is that text even selectable (double-click on the text, or click-drag across the text to select it)?
    If you can see the text is selected (highlighted), can you click-drag the selected text out of that document window?
    Can you copy, then paste the text to somewhere else, such as a TextEdit document?

    If you can't select the text at all, it may simply be how that Illustrator document is set up. It may be on a different layer from other parts of the graphic, but I can't tell from your example.

    Your example shows you trying to name a file to a shared location.
    And, the "Save Folder" button in the bottom left is not active, so it appears that you don't have write-access to that shared folder (I think)... That would prevent you from naming a file then, because you can't save it to _that_ shared folder.
    Can you save it to a local folder, such as your desktop?
     
  3. stilly00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    stilly00

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    Thanks for your quick response. The type can be selected easily within the illustrator file no problem there. It just can't be pasted to the Dialogue box when saving. I have full admin rights on this computer and I purposely blanked out the name on the shared server. I used to be able to do this easy function all the time. This just started happening when I updated to OSX El Capitan Version 10.11.6. This really should be the simplest of tasks to do.
     
  4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    Strange that this does not work. I haven't tried myself. (not at my Mac now)
    I wonder if you can paste it in Finder after saving the file. I know that's one extra step, but just curious.
     
  5. stilly00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    stilly00

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Yes, It allows me to paste in the finder. I can pretty much paste it anywhere Just not to save as a file name. It's driving me crazy!
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    The fact that you have admin rights on YOUR computer does not affect (and is not the same as) being allowed to write to a shared volume.
    Also, I mentioned that the "New Folder" button in your example is greyed out, so not available to you. If you can't make a new folder, it may also mean that you don't have write access to that shared volume.
    That's why I asked if you can copy-paste to save a file or make a folder from that dialog on your local drive. You should be able to do that in any case.

    Just read your latest post - Can you copy and paste from your example Illlustrator document, to change the name of a file that you have already created, by bypassing the Save dialog box?
    Make a new file, just for that purpose. You can leave it named "Untitled" if you like.
    Copy the name from your Illus. document.
    Click on your new file, then press Enter so the name is selected. Now, click Command-V (paste)
    Does that file name change to your desired name?
     
  7. stilly00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    stilly00

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    Yes, I can copy and paste in that fashion, however that is not conducive for my productivity. I can also paste the text on an already saved untitled file on my desktop, or even change a file name. This is something that I have always been able to do in the past. My screen shot example shows the shared volume as the destination, but I can't save it to my desktop or anywhere else for that matter, even in a new folder. So I don't "think" it's a write access issue, but That's why I'm here asking, so anything is possible.The issue is only in the dialogue box when I do a save or save as.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 19, 2017 ---
    It's seems as though the Program Illustrator is the culprit. I just tried to do this very same thing ina document created in Photoshop and it allowed to to copy and paste the the selected type into the file name. Strange.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Hmm...

    What version are you using? CS6? CC? ?
    Seems to me that if the problem exists only with Illustrator, but not PS, then should be something in the Illust configuration, or a .plist somewhere.
    Maybe a third-party plugin that is not quite compatible with El Capitan (don't know... )

    I looked around in Adobe support threads, and there are _similar_ issues where one gets tips to move settings files, etc.
    Here's an example that is not really the same as your issue, but might give you a boost in the right direction
    (I should mention that I don't use anything Adobe, outside of Reader and FlashPlayer, so you are way outside of my knowledge/comfort zone here. :D )
     
  9. stilly00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    stilly00

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Thanks DeltaMac. I'm thinking now it may have something to do with Illustrators clipboard. I went into the preferences for Illustrator but didn't see anything to change in the clipboard area. Perhaps it's just an Illustrator issue? Thanks for the links. I'll keep looking for an answer.
     

Share This Page