How come DirecTV doesn't have an Apple TV app?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Rogifan, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. Rogifan macrumors P6

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #1
    I use their app on my iPad quite a bit. I'm able to get live TV for all channels except local CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX etc. Being able to stream directly from TV when the receiver is out due to rain or snow would be awesome. It would also be great for watching on demand content. Come to think of it I don't think any cable or satellite providers have TV apps (Comcast has a similar app where you can watch live TV directly on an iOS device). If they can make apps for iPad why not for TV?
     
  2. HobeSoundDarryl, Jan 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2016

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #2
    Money? All of those providers make a nice monthly lease fee from the extra boxes attached to each TV. Roll out :apple:TV versions of their iDevice apps for streaming content live or from the central DVR and people might opt to use :apple:TVs instead of retaining those leases.

    Nevertheless, I'm quite hopeful that some of them do it anyway. In my own case, I hope DISH rolls out a version of their DISH Anywhere (app) for :apple:TV (though "anywhere" wouldn't mean the same as it does now unless one takes it as "anywhere else in the same home"). DISH just announced a 16-tuner Hopper (DVR) for 2016 http://www.dealerscope.com/article/...t-ces-sling-tv-adds-channels-content-screens/ , so even people with many TVs in one home could all feed off a central Hopper if that kind of app was released for :apple:TV.
     
  3. Rogifan thread starter macrumors P6

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #3
    Well they could still require the box. I would use the box most of the time to not go over my data cap. But man on those days when I don't get a signal having a TV app to fall back on would be awesome.
     
  4. HobeSoundDarryl, Jan 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2016

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #4
    Unless I'm mistaken, using such apps within our own homes via wired or wifi wouldn't burn any data cap at all.

    OR perhaps your question is different than I just interpreted it? If so, there would still be ONE main leased box- the main Hopper DVR (or Genie in DirecTVs case). In this concept of a DISH app for :apple:TV, the latter would basically be replacing leased "Joeys" throughout a home (feeding from the main Hopper DVR). Thus, no data cap issues as the main Satt Tuner would still be fed by bypassing the Cable (broadband) middlemen getting video feeds from source(s) through the satts in orbit to the Hopper DVR in each home, then from that Hopper to the individual :apple:TVs (in place of DISH Joey boxes).
     
  5. bluespark macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    That doesn't solve the problem, though, from DirecTV's perspective. A typical home might have one main box and multiple Genies on various TVs. If the DirecTV content is available via Apple TV, people would have an incentive to replace those additional Genies with Apple TVs. Requiring "the box" doesn't lessen the incentive to replace the other boxes. (Case in point: I have six TVs in my house. I would stop paying for all those Genies other than the main one very quickly if I had a way to do so.)

    That said, DirecTV should do this anyway because people increasingly expect to be able to access their content on any device and they will move away from services that don't let them do that. Simply put, a business model that relies on monthly hardware rental fees to show content that would be portable with a competitor won't survive for long.
     
  6. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #6
    I assume the "Joeys" are not FREE so they would loose that revenue. TIVO is doing something like this with the Amazon Fire App to replace the TIVO Mini. I heard but have not verified that the TIVO Fire App will not play DRM (copy once) Channels. TWC has most channels flagged this way. Others are less. With DRM the clients have to support this as well so this may be part of the problem. I am on Verizon FIOS and they have small client boxes as well and would have loved to see them do this but have since removed all of my Verizon STB's because they would not do this kind of thing. I now use HDHomeRun with CableCards (does not use internet data) to access the content via my Apple TV and am saving a lot of money on hardware (I have 8 TV's) and have better access because only had 4 STB's before (2 of which were DVR's).
     
  7. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #7
    That's right (the Joey's are leased boxes) and the cost to them would be that lease revenue, which works against the OPs desire.

    The workaround for DISH anyway is Airplay- use the DISH anywhere app to throw programming to an :apple:TV which then shows it on a TV. OP is wanting to bypass that hassle(?) by cutting out the Airplay requirement. I support that same desire. It would be nice if such apps already coded for iOS mobile devices were ported to this iOS (mostly) immobile device. But the money driver works against that potential. Still, I'll simply hope it happens.
     
  8. BruiserB macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #8
    I'm hoping for something like this too. Cable/Sat providers already have iOS apps that can be AirPlayed and allow subscribers to authenticate individual "channel" apps (like CNN, HGTV, etc) to watch on AppleTV. Why not just allow the functionality on an all in one DirecTV app? I know the answer is greed, but hopefully they will get over it. I assume like the iOS app, they could make the app check to make sure it is on the same network as an actual DirectTV receiver to prevent people from just giving away their login info (which they can do with the channel by channel authentications). Heck, I might even be willing to pay reasonable monthly fee to have tvOS access...couldn't they change $4.99 a month to "subscribe?" Apple's rules probably wouldn't let them do it by device, but if they required one in home box plus got revenue from Apple it might soften the blow of lost revenue from the extra devices they currently lease. They'd lose some revenue but they'd also decrease assets they have to carry, install, support and maintain.
     
  9. Snoopy4 macrumors 6502a

    Snoopy4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    #10
    DirecTV charges for an RVU capable TV, so they'll no doubt find a way to squeeze you for a couple of bucks to use an app on ATV
     
  10. Snoopy4 macrumors 6502a

    Snoopy4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    #11
    Stay tuned... DirecTV NOW is coming...you might be able to dump the dish and just stream everything. If it's like Comcast, you'll get a DVR in the house that streams to any of your devices anywhere including live streaming of channels. Basically DirecTV via ISP. Seems to be this will be the way they eventually unload Uverse as a product.


    http://www.techhive.com/article/304...reaming-tv-services-including-a-free-one.html
     

Share This Page