How come no play/pause headphones with the Nano?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by WiiDSmoker, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. WiiDSmoker macrumors 65816

    WiiDSmoker

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN
    #1
    The ones that came with my iPod stopped working, so I was hoping the new Nano would come with the headphones so I can play/pause/etc from the headphones and not the device itself.

    What a cheapout! :mad:
     
  2. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #2
    The headphones with built-in remote can be purchased by themselves. You didn't have to buy the nano to get a headphone replacement for your other iPod. On top of that, the nano does not require external controls.

    Besides, I'm not keen on controls (volume and/or play/pause) built in-line on headphones. All the ones I've had like that eventually fail right at the control in question-- it's a "weak link", IMO.
     
  3. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #3
    They want more money. What do you think?
     
  4. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #4
    It is not totally unexpected on Apple's part, though at the price of the new Nano, still a bit disappointing. Considering I have 2 or 3 pairs of those from iPhones, I'm not too upset about it, but it would be nice to see them available at a more reasonable price. Or at the very minimum, keep the in-store stock the same, but make it an option to get those instead on online orders at a $10 upcharge.
     
  5. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #5
    I honestly think they really should have. I mean I love the new Nano, I'm excited about mine, but I do think for the use they are mostly marketing it for (on the go, walking/excercising, that kind of stuff) you need physical buttons. And it would have been a way to say, hey, still has physical buttons for when you can't look at it to fast forward/rewind a song. Instead it's like, you lost that functionality unless you want to pay extra. So in a way, they made it more expensive.

    I personally don't care cause I already have several sets, one from my new iphone 4, one from my roommate's which I switched for my ipod's as he doesn't care about the remote, and one good set my mom actually bought me that's not apple's brand, Klipsch s4i which I really like. But I still think they should have put those in and I agree it was a cheapout on their part not to.
     

Share This Page