How come Opera on my MacBook?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BuddyMac, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. BuddyMac macrumors member

    BuddyMac

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #1
    Recently I upgraded to Safari 4.0 manually since it doesn't come into Software Update's list.

    After that I double clicked on a .html file and surprisingly it opened in Opera browser. But I never installed Opera on my MacBook also I couldn't find Opera in my Applications folder.

    Any idea on how come it gets installed automatically? How can I uninstall it now?
     
  2. Zyniker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #2
    Just delete it from wherever the Hell it is located. Search for it >> right-click >> Open Enclosing Folder.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    I had this same issue also; I do use Opera, but I didn't install it when it opened; also it was version 9.27 and it was located in the Adobe Bridge folder. :confused:
     
  4. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Yeah, it seems to be bundled with some Adobe products.
     
  5. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
  6. Poncho macrumors 6502

    Poncho

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Holland
    #6
    Hee hee, same thing happened to me.

    Opera is installed with Adobe CS3. Go to: /Applications/Adobe Bridge CS3/Bridge CS3.app/Contents/MacOS/Opera.app/Applications/Adobe Device Central CS3/Device Central.app/Contents/MacOS/Required/Opera.app

    Opera’s rendering engine is used by several components in the suite.
     
  7. BuddyMac thread starter macrumors member

    BuddyMac

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #7
    Ohh... Thanks a lot.
    Anyway I'm not using Adobe CS4 much. It is just a trial version. Then I must uninstall Adobe first.
     

Share This Page