How could this site be improved?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by joelovesapple, Jun 13, 2010.

1. joelovesapple macrumors 6502a

joelovesapple

Hey everyone,

The site I am about to link to was not created by me, but I'd like some feedback as I know the designer. I have zero experience in design I hasten to add.

I will admit that it's not the greatest by any stretch of the imagination; heck if I had mobileme I'd use iweb or if I was someone who knew what they were doing, Dreamweaver.

Here is the link: http://tarca.org.uk/

TARCA's main aim is to help people in community housing, ie people who can't afford to buy their own place for various reasons.

I think it needs a big lift from it's 1998 look. The designer is about 70 and thinks it looks cutting edge but you only need to look at last.fm or virtually any other site out there to see that it is not.

The feedback would be much appreciated, thanks! :eek:

2. snberk103 macrumors 603

The joke page has definitely got to go. I'm surprised that an organization that is supposed to be helping out disadvantaged people is allowing sexist jokes, and jokes that make fun of an identifiable group of people.

3. citizenzen macrumors 65816

The only thing I would keep from that design is the fixed-width (though wider), centered position.

Feel free to change everything else.

Please.

4. joelovesapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

joelovesapple

Completely and utterly agree with you both! :eek:

I'll get this sorted straight away... I dislike it as much as the two of you!

Cheers for the feedback...

PS: forgot to say that the program he uses is Serif PagePlus 11 and I've had a go at it myself and it feels overly complicated. I tried changing the colour of the main Tarca title and it just looked damn awful!

Such a shame that we're stuck with this and can't use something else instead, or somebody else more to the point. :(

5. snberk103 macrumors 603