How do I access Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -Josh-, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. -Josh- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #1
    I can't seem to find away to find Bootcamp in leopard, what's going on? Spotlite can't find it, is it a download?

    Thanks,

    Josh
     
  2. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #2
    You have to install it from the disc that came with your computer.
     
  3. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  4. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #4
    On some factory Install of Leopard, it is NOT installed... I forget the path on the DVD though.
     
  5. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #5
    Yeah..mine is that factory setting.
    Help?
     
  6. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #6
    Yeah, mine is missing too so I checked the install DVD and I can't find it in there either. But I found this on the Apple support site

    Read Me

    Boot Camp Assistant may be missing from the /Applications/Utility folder on the MacBook (13-inch Late 2007).
    Products affected

    * MacBook (13-inch Late 2007)

    Solution

    To reinstall the Boot Camp Assistant from the DVD set, follow these steps:

    1. Insert the Mac OS X Install Disc 1.
    2. Select Go to Folder and type:
    /Volumes/Mac OS X Install Disc 1/System/Installation/Packages
    3. Double-click BootCamp.pkg to reinstall the Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  7. pelorick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #7
    When we received our MB Pro two weeks ago, it didn't have Leopard installed. It was just a drop in DVD. I couldn't find Boot Camp either until I realized that I had 10.4.? installed. I called Apple and they confirmed that even though Leopard was already released at the time of purchase, it wasn't installed on the computer. I believe that this will change next month. I am not in front of my computer now, but I think it is under the utilities folder.

    pelorick
     
  8. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #8
    Just tried installing it using the instructions above, works no problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #9
    Where is the Go To folder?
     
  10. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #10
    In the Finder
    'Go' menu
    'Go To Folder' (or shift-:apple:-G)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #11
    I found Go to Folder, but now I'm having problems. It says, "The folder cannot be found"
     
  12. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #12
    Make sure your install DVD disc 1 is mounted then copy and paste this into the Go to Folder window (isn't exactly the most user friendly part of OSX);

    /Volumes/Mac OS X Install Disc 1/System/Installation/Packages
     
  13. -Josh- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #13
    Thanks guys, found it.
     
  14. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #14
    No problem, it's helped me out too.
    I didn't realise there was a software glitch with the new MacBooks until I went looking for Boot Camp and couldn't find it.

    I guess the other way to browse the install disc would be to use the terminal to switch on invisible files, that way you could go browsing the disc (Boot Camp didn't even show up on Spotlight or find when the disc was inserted)
     
  15. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #15
    Could someone with 10.4 install boot camp from a leopard dvd w/ out actually using leopard?
     
  16. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #16
    Yes, I believe it's possible if you are running the Beta (which expires soon) you can then update it using the Leopard disc.

    From Apple website;
    Already running Boot Camp? Even easier.
    If you’re already working with a previous version of Boot Camp, you’re practically finished before you start. All you need is some new drivers. To install them, simply start up your Mac in Windows and update the drivers from the Leopard DVD


    Not sure if it will work from scratch, I guess try it using the instructions above but I'm note sure about the legalities of this with respect to the end user license.
     
  17. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #17
    Bloody hell!

    I brought a MacBook yesterday, and one of the main reasons was for Boot Camp. Hmm. explore a bit. Wow, it's very different from my Powerbook running 10.3.9!

    OK, so where is Boot Camp? Where is it? Scan the online resources. All talk about Boot Camp Assistant. Where is it? Where the hell is it?

    Does it really come with Leopard? I put in DVD 1 and go through the folders. Nope, not there. WTF? Am I dreaming? Is this some special butt**** Apple has created for me?

    Finally, I find the advice in the posts above. Phew! Boot Camp is finally present on my shiny new MacBook.
     
  18. jamesraguirre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #18
    Is Boot Camp worth It?

    I want to be able to play more games, but will using boot camp compromise the "legendary mac security" of my mac book pro?
     
  19. zeemeerman2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #19
    That's one big thread resurrection there!
    But to answer your question; no, it won't.
    Worst case, when in Windows you run a virus that removes every single bit of data from your hard disk drive, it will remove every single bit from your Windows part of the hard disk drive. Your Mac part will be untouched.
     
  20. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #20
    Not half! I don't remember writing any of that! Glad nobody asked me a technical question.
     
  21. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #21
    I don't remember writing my reply above either :) Interesting to see how my writing has changed over the last 5 years - I don't phrase myself like that any more ...
     

Share This Page