how do i access internet on an imac os 9.2

Discussion in 'iMac' started by th3kk, Apr 28, 2008.

  1. th3kk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #1
    ok well i have recently stumbled onto an imac os 9.2, old i no...but i cannot access internet on it when ever i open iexplorer it comes up as cannot find address and as i am new to :apple: i whould like to ask for as much HELP as possible plz :(

    -th3kk
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
  3. th3kk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #3
    umm..i think its dsl its from bright house so ya dsl
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    1. do not use internet explorer on any computer system.

    2. you should install OS X on it. OS X 10.2 should work fine.
     
  5. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    Eh. I wouldn't really recommend installing Jaguar over 9.2.... it has barely any more software for it than 9.2, and it's slower by far. Min I'd go with is Panther (10.3).

    That said, have you tried the Internet Setup Assistant in OS 9?
     
  6. Robert Elliott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #6
    Please specify model and memory

    Please specify your model and memory size.

    I have an iMac 500MHz with 500Meg memory which I have used for years to access the internet using both Mac OS 9.2 and with Mac OS X 3. (I also have older and newer models.)

    Robert Elliott
    Instructor, Wikiversity Film School
    r_elliott -at- innercite.com
     
  7. th3kk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #7
    im not quite sure what model or how much memory it has like i said i am new to mac and how whould i get ahold of osx? thx

    -th3kk
     
  8. Robert Elliott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #8
    Look for the program caled "Remote Access"

    Assuming you obtained a working Macintosh with 9.2, you need to find a program called "Remote Access" to set up the information for your dial-up account. One of the options which you can set in Remote Access is to "Connect automatically when starting TCP/IP applications". That allows Remote Access and Internet Explorer to work together.

    Robert Elliott

    Please contact me off line at "r_purser -at- innercite.com". There is too much to explain here.
     

Share This Page