How do i activate an unlocked iphone for tmobile?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tbaby123, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. tbaby123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #1
    My iphone 2g was accidently restored. it is still unlocked and when my tmobile sim card is in it i can recieve calls but the phone is no longer activated and it keeps telling me to insert a AT&T sim card. im a tmobile customer so the activation wont work. How can i fix this. should i jailbreak the phone? what do i need to do? Phone is stuck on the screen that tells you to plug into itunes
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    Use redsn0w to hacktivate your phone. Same procedure as a jailbreak. And don't post multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  3. jmchicago macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #3
    i have the same question.. how do i ACTIVATE, not hacktivate my iphone for use on tmobile (i want push notifications to work).

    i have a friend with at&t sim but no iphone plan. am i right in thinking this won't work for activating my iphone?
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    You activate your iPhone with a valid iPhone SIM from AT&T.
     
  5. jmchicago macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #5
    so can i use a friend's at&t sim with an existing iphone plan? or does it have to be a new plan?
     
  6. jmchicago macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #6
    does anybody know? i tried a search but have not found anything..

    don't want to try to do anything and potentially mess something up. any help would be greatly appreciated! i just want push notifications to work
     
  7. Chiny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #7
    You need a custom fireware to activate the phone. Pwnagetool is the only program that does that if u have a Mac. Then get a restore firmware for the
    2g phone and that will solve ur problem. Their are plenty of tutorials on that, to get u throw the process. Good luck
     
  8. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #8
    You don't need custom firmware.

    Try following the following steps, which take you through reinstalling and re-unlocking your phone. Set aside an hour or so:

    1. Download the 3.0.0 AND the 3.0.1 files for the 2G iphone from here: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750
    It is the lines labelled
    3.0.0 (2G): iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw
    and
    3.0.1 (2G): iPhone1,1_3.0.1_7A400_Restore.ipsw
    put them in a foldfer on your desktop called Pwnage.

    2. Put the phone into DFU mode like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofpinyGlQ8I
    and when iTunes tells you it needs to restore, hold the Shift key (Windows) or the Option key (Mac) and it will open an explorer window. Browse to the desktop and select the 3.0.1 file you just downloaded. Let iTunes retore the phone. Don't go on to the activation step.

    3. Use this tutorial to unlock and jailbreak your phone. In both cases, SKIP STEP 2 - you have already done it. When you get to Step 2, just scroll down to Step 3 and carry on:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4302 (Windows)
    or this one
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4304 (Mac)

    Your phone should now work OK.

    (And just in case you run into a fairly common problem running Redsn0w - if RedSn0w hangs up at "Waiting for Reboot", just unplug the cable for a couple of seconds then plug it back in again.)
     
  9. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #9
    you can put your friends at&t sim card in, active the phone with itunes, and then put your t-mobile sim in and that will work.
     

Share This Page