How do I actually get continuity/handoff setup?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by BlendedFrog, Aug 28, 2014.

  1. BlendedFrog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #1
    This is actually quite frustrating. On 2013 rMBP running yosmite DP6 and my IP 5s (beta5) it just seemed to work. But I am using a work 2011 MB air with yosmite DP6 and an IP5 (beta 5) and I cannot seem to get it going.

    According to the system report on the air the BT LMP version is ox6 so it has the right version. I have both the air and IP on the same wireless network and have bt turned on. Handoff is turned on on the iphone. The same apple id is signed in on both devices. What I cannot find is 'handoff' in the general tab of system properties of the air. If I search for it, spotlight says it is in the general tab, but I cannot find it.

    I have no idea what I am doing wrong.
     
  2. xero9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #2
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1753721

    Continuity works, but Handoff does not (currently, but who knows if it ever will).
     
  3. ProphetX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #3
  4. xero9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #4

    We'll see if it's due to being a beta or planned obsolescence
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    They're planning to make Handoff obsolete before it's released to the public ?
     
  6. xero9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #6
    Not Handoff, but the Mid-2011 MacBook Air. Technically it supports it, but has yet to be compatible with the BTLE/802.11n cards.

    I see this again like the original iPhone and MMS. Technically capable of it (as seen on jailbroken devices), yet Apple didn't want to update some modem drivers or something like that. Can't remember the exact details as it was what, 6 years ago?
     

Share This Page