How do i add a password for my router?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JordanLB23, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. JordanLB23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
  2. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #2
    Go to the router Home page - usually 192.168.1.1 or a variant.
    Look for password settings.
     
  3. crypticlineage macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    Caution: Always use ethernet cable when establishing connection to the router for administration. On wifi, the password is sent unencrypted and someone could hijack your network.
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Grab the manual, and follow the administrative aspects that outline the password setup. Every router is different so you need the manual specific to your model. For password type choose WPA2 if available or WPA if not. WEP is too weak these days.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Also check 10.1.10.1; that's often the default for SMC routers.

    I'm assuming you have Comcast?
    If so, the default username is 'cusadmin' and the password is 'highspeed'

    If you you don't have Comcast, then you'd need to put your router model number into Google and search for the default username and password.
     
  6. DJ-R macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
  7. JordanLB23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #7
    it doesnt say
     
  8. intelgrande macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #8
    It'd be under the encryption settings. You'd look for something like WPA2 or some form of encryption with a key, and that key is used as the password to access the network.
     
  9. Tyler76 macrumors member

    Tyler76

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    Find out your SMC router model, google the model name + admin username and password. You should be able to find the info, and if not, go to SMC site and download the manual. If the default admin login doesn't work, reset your router and try it again.
     
  10. JordanLB23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #10
    How do i add a password for my router?

    i have a smc router and macbook pro how do i add one to protect my wifi?
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  12. JordanLB23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #12
    thats not the password

    i know that password its for configuring the rotuer which is smcadmin

    i need to ADD a password to protect my wireless router so only pople with the password can use it
     
  13. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #13

    What you need to do is turn on encryption (WPA or WPA2) and set a key (the password).

    It should be in the book how to do this.
     
  14. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #14
    You are talking about a password for the actual wireless not the router itself. That is done when you set up the wireless in the router, you can change the SSID ( the name of the wireless network) and set up some sort or protection. WPA security is a good one to use. if there is a WPA2 personal it uses a 13 character pass phrase that anyone who logs onto that Wireless network will need to type in.. Macs love WPA security, Windows machines tend to have a little more of a difficult time with it.

    Hope that helps a bit.
     
  15. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #15
    No kidding. You do that from within the router control panel, which you need to log into.
     
  16. JordanLB23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #16
    pre shared passphrase? i just enter a password and its fine?
     
  17. JordanLB23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #17
    if i enter the password will i need to reset my internet?
     
  18. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #18
    Sorry I didn't respond, been a little busy.

    If you add the encryption, you will need to reconnect your devices to the router to get out. There is no need to restart your modem.
     

Share This Page