How do I assign permanent Spaces to Apps?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by polkunus, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. polkunus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #1
    I have 10-12 applications running simultaneously, how do I assign permanent desktop spaces to each application? I don't want to manually move applications to spaces every time I start my computer.
     
  2. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #2
    I'm working on the same thing, I used to like having the 2x2 spaces with certain apps assigned for each... I'll get used to this, especially since it rearranges them based on use, but it's a habit I'll have to break, and it'll be annoying til then
     
  3. polkunus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #3
    Wait, wait, so you're saying I can't?

    Are you serious? There has to be a way around this... I don't want my OS to tell me how to organize things.
     
  4. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Right click on the app in the dock, there should be an option there to make it open in a particular space.
     
  5. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #5
    Also, though I haven't used Lion, my understanding is that while it rearranges apps based on use, you can turn this off and set the order of spaces.
     
  6. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #6
    This issue alone (the stupid missing scroll option for my trackpad notwithstanding) may cause me to revert back to SL on my laptop :-(
     
  7. polkunus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
  8. polkunus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #8
    oh wait, this isn't as smooth as I'd expect it to be...
     
  9. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #9
    Seconded, somehow i missed that option :)

    Now, anyone have info for how to:

    A)Stop the reloading of all my desktop icons, taking a few second every time I switch spaces as opposed to SL

    B)Give me back the ability to have a 2x2 square of spaces?

    C)Give me an easier way to manage windows between spaces (move them around and such, like in SL, and every other virtual desktop implementation out there)

    /grrr
     
  10. polkunus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #10
    +1
     
  11. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    You can drag windows from one space to another (provided it isn't full screen) while in Mission Control.
     
  12. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #12
    yes, but I can only manipulate the windows *on the space I was on* whereas before (and in every other VD tool out there) I can drag windows from one space to another without any problem, from anywhere to anywhere. Mission control is a *massive* step backward in usability for anyone who heavily uses VDs, and I can't *wait* to see the hell it's going to 'cause for me if I upgrade my *tower* with its 4 screens to Lion. Everything I've seen tells me it's going to be a nightmare on a multi-screen setup!

    (Tower's gonna wait a bit though no matter what, it's my main workhorse and the software on it *has* to work, so it gets to wait for Apple to iron out the bugs, just like every OS upgrade)
     

Share This Page