How do I backup iLife if I no longer have the disk?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Johnny7, Sep 5, 2010.

1. Johnny7 macrumors member

Hey guys, I am needing to reinstall mac os x tiger on my "new" used powerbook. The only issue it that it came with applications that I would like to keep such as final cut express, photoshop, and all of the apps from iLife 05'. I'm new to using macs so this is all very different to me. I have found a way that I think will work but I really need reassurance.

My plan..
    Firstly, plug in my external hard drive, open it, and then open finder. Then I search for the application in finder and drag them into my external hard drive. After reinstalling mac os x, I drag the applications from my external drive back into the applications folder.

If that wouldn't work, can someone tell me what would? I have already put every app I want into my external drive and can actually run the apps from the drive. I put safari in the drive and then deleted it from the internal hard drive, dragged safari back into the applications folder and it worked like it was always there. So I think it will work but I'd like some info from people who have either already done this etc.

Thanks,
    Johnny

2. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Buy an External disk. Make sure you get one for the fastest port on your Mac, because the fastest transfer is the best.

Then on 10.6 you could use apple's built-in Time Machine but also you could clone (a bootable backup) you current system with something like the free Carbon Copy Cloner or an other shareware like SuperDuper. This way you can always have a good backup in case somethings goes bad in your Mac. It's the smart thing to do to make sure all your data (pictures, files, etc.) is not lost on case if a hard drive goes.

3. Johnny7 thread starter macrumors member

Powerbooks cannot run snow leopard and I am just reinstalling tiger. I just need some reassurance that my plan will work :confused: