how do i change change .bat file into a .sh

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by kidmaster12, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. kidmaster12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #1
    im playing a game called battlescape and it's like only way you can play is that you have to install java battlescape is somthing like runescape but private server but the only way i can play is that it had a .bat file and one of my friends said i had to change it o .sh file i was like wondering how do i turn it into a .sh file please help me im about to post a picture to help you find out
     
  2. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
    You haven't even posted the .bat file. Depending on what it is, maybe just renaming it and fixing the permissions on it. It may require more massaging. We just have no idea. We can try to help once there is something to help with. Post the file, and/or link to a site and we'll see what we can do.

    Also, 8 minutes? Take it down a bit.

    -Lee
     
  3. bootedbear macrumors 6502

    bootedbear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    No Java.

    .bat is a DOS shell script, .sh is a Unix shell script.

    As far as I know, there is no automatic way to covert DOS commands to Unix shell commands.
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    8 minutes plus at least two other posts in other forums.

    Anyway, a bat file generally can't be changed to a sh file without rewriting it totally - bat files are DOS, sh are Linux/Unix shell scripts.
     
  5. kidmaster12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #5
    ok ill post download link its only 435 kb size im only 13 i dont know to much about this http://uppit.com/SQPESN its for game called runescape i need to know how to open it.


    i dont know how to open or get information on it all i did s write click on the file doesnt say anything
     
  6. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #6
    That file is a .zip archive. You first need to unarchive it (double-click on it in the Finder if it doesn't do it automatically). Inside that folder are 3 files: a .jar (Java) file, a Config.bat file, and a readme file. The Read Me says you don't even need the .bat file unless your client is crashing. The Config.bat file is readable as text, here is the contents:

    Code:
    @echo off
    Title BattleScape Client
    java -Xmx500m -jar client.jar
    pause
    exit
    But, that won't run on a Mac as a .sh (shell script) anyway. What you're supposed to do with the .jar file to get your game to run, I have no idea, sorry (it won't launch using Jar Launcher.app for me).
     
  7. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #7
    If double clicking the jar file doesn't work, just try running the command

    java -Xmx500m -jar client.jar

    inside Terminal from the directory with the jar file.
     
  8. kidmaster12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
  9. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    i can't test this because I don't have the proper OS/Architecture to run java 1.6 on my Mac. You need to be on leopard on a 64-bit chip (most new Core 2 Duos, etc. i think). If you have Leopard, you may have java 1.6, so just try to run:
    java -Xmx500m -jar client.jar

    from terminal in the folder you've saved the client.jar file to.

    If you get errors, you can post them here, but at this point if it doesn't work its unlikely you can do anything to fix it.

    -Lee
     
  10. kidmaster12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #10
    and how do i do that?
     
  11. kidmaster12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008

Share This Page