How do I change my default camera app for the lock screen?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Razeus, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Razeus macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  2. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    Do you mean automatically going from the lock screen camera button to, say, Camera+ or some other app like that? If so, I don't believe there's a way.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  4. Vook macrumors member

    Vook

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Merica
  5. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #5
    This is not possible, you are stuck using the stock camera app until apple decides they want to allow you to have the option to choose.
     
  6. Razeus thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Grrr... I guess I'll have to delete Camera+ from my phone then. Thanks Apple. :mad:

    (I meant when I'm at the lock-screen and jump right into he camera app).
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  8. Razeus thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    I also noticed I can't use the volume button in Instagram to take a photo. Is this an Apple lockout feature too?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Not a lockout feature, but something that only applies to Apple's camera interfaces.
     
  10. Razeus thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    Are you saying that Instagram and other camera apps can update for this feature if they wanted to?
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    No, its a feature that's unique to the Camera app and other Apple picture taking interfaces (like taking a picture for MMS for example).
     
  12. a.jfred macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    Ask Camera+ -- they had this as a hidden feature, and then got their app pulled from the app store because of it (more because it was hidden). When they were allowed back in, they were forced to remove the feature from their app before Apple would allow it.
     
  13. elfy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #13
    I don't understand. Why do you have to delete camera+ from your phone because you can't access it in this way?
     
  14. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #14
    Because it is necessary to be overly dramatic. There is no reason to delete Camera+ just because of that. Sure, it'd be nice to always use it but if you're dead set on using it then unlock your silly phone and use it. (as I do)
     
  15. Rrod, May 13, 2012
    Last edited: May 13, 2012

    Rrod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Location:
    Chocolate & Fries
    #15
    Yes it can

    Jailbreak your phone and install AnyLockApp via Cydia. Any third party app can be assigned to that button on the lockscreen. Thumbs up ;) !
     
  16. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #16
    Of if you Jailbreak on 5.0.1 install camera grabber and GrabberApp.
     
  17. qtaran111 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #17
    Camera+ allows you to use the volume up as a shutter button.
     
  18. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #18
    No you can't. You cannot change the default lock screen camera app when using the phone as stock.
     
  19. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #19
    Some camera app was removed from the App Store for doing that long before it was an official feature :rolleyes:
     
  20. qCzar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    SFBA, CA
    #20
    He's saying that's it's a restriction imposed by Apple on iOS developers, not that Apple was the first to have it.
     

Share This Page