How do I change screen resolution?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iphong, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. iphong macrumors member

    iphong

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Hi,

    OK, so I installed Snow Leopard. Everything went well but I had one problem. I used DVI-HDMI cable to connect my Monitor. My monitor resolution is 1920x1200, and it doesn't have a DVI port. Only VGA and HDMI. Everything worked fine with Leopard, and I can see the 1920x1200 option listed in the System Prefs. But in SL, this option disappeared, instead they added 480p,720p,1080i, and 1080p.

    Is there any way I can force the system to display 1920x1200?

    Thanks.
     
  2. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
  3. iphong thread starter macrumors member

    iphong

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    No, it's 1920x1080 . When I select this option the screen got stretched out vertically and it look ugly and blurry.
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #4
    Get an adapter to use the VGA cable.

    Not many can help because SL is still a dev only thing.
     
  5. iphong thread starter macrumors member

    iphong

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    I used a flashed PC 4870 card so I can't use VGA adapter.

    My temporary solution which worked, is to plug in my GT 120 graphic card and use the VGA adapter.

    I remembered I read somewhere about editing some .prefs file to get to hidden resolutions. Hope someone can help me out.
     
  6. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #6
    Like I said, not too many people will be able to help you out.
     
  7. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
    Doh! You're entirely correct.

    What OS version are you on? I know with 10.5.7 they changed some HD res stuff around. ScreenResX is always an option.
     

Share This Page