How do I connect a PowerMac to a TV?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by nigletsyz, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. nigletsyz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #1
    I've got my G4 MDD powermac in the bedroom that I use for schoolwork, and I would also like to have it hooked up to a television in the living room. I've got a bunch of tv shows on the computer's hard drives that I'd like to be able to view in the living room and not in the bedroom. Is there any way to do this wirelessly? BTW, my tv doesn't have S-video, just regular RCA and coax inputs. Basically, I'd like to use my Cinema Display like normal and when I have the tv on and connected, it mirrors everything I'm doing on the LCD. Wirelessly. If possible. :)
     
  2. nigletsyz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
  3. rtrt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #3
    sounds to me like an apple tv would do the job.

    prob'ly cheaper ways to do it tho'.

    don't have an apple tv tho - so don't go buying one on my say so ;)
     
  4. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #4
    or a Slingbox perhaps?

    :apple:TV is pretty cheap though IMO and you know it will "just work" :cool:.
     
  5. OlBlueHair macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #5
    only problem is that the apple tv needs hdmi or component inputs on the tv...

    (I love my appletv by the way, best gadget I have gotten in a long time...I use it waaaay more than I thought I would, kind of like the very first iPod)
     
  6. rtrt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #6
    maybe an xbox (original) with XBMC.

    would likely take a fair bit of work and know how - plenty of tutorials around on web tho'
     

Share This Page