How do i connect g5 tower (no screen) to Mac book pro laptop?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by machead500000, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. machead500000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    Hi

    I have an old g5 Tower- the first model released, with no screen or cables, nada, just the kettle lead for power and keyboard. I also have a new laptop macbook pro, i would like to browse the G5 using the screen from the macbookpro- what cables would i need?

    is this possible via ethernet, remembering i cant command the g5 without a screen? should i but a cheap monitor for the g5?

    :confused:

    hope you can help

    thanks :)
     
  2. 12inMacBookPro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #2
    Screen Sharing

    If the G5 is running Leopard you can use it over screen sharing if you hook them both up to your network. Hopefully you have a router, and preferably, you should use a gigabit switch which is very affordable now.

    You should know that even over gigabit, screen sharing was never designed for things like playing or editing video or playing games. Both of those things will suck a lot.

    In any case, you will still need a monitor to set it up. Perhaps you can borrow one.

    If I were you I would ebay the G5 and use the cash to buy whatever you need to replace it with the macbook. For example, if you want to use your G5 because it has lots of ram, buy your MBP some ram. Hard drive? Buy a big fat external. You'll probably be able to come out several hundred bucks ahead this way, and your MBP is probably about equal in power with the G5 anyway. Plus you'll save space and power consumption ($$).
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    Nothing needs Leopard. If your MBP has Leopard (which it should), you can do cmd+k in the Finder. Type the vnc://IPADDRESS, where IPADDRESS is the G5's IP address. You can find that information in your routers settings.
     
  4. NIPRING macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Waukesha WI
    #4
    If you just want to look through the G5's hard drive put it in target mode(start up holding T) then connect to the MacBook via FireWire.
     
  5. NEEDTOKNOW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #5
    transfering files


    I want to transfer files to my lap top. is this possible in targetmode?
     
  6. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #6
    Yup.

    It will behave as an external drive, so drag files as you like.
     

Share This Page