How do I connect to dial-up service?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by scissorband, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. scissorband macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #1
    I have a late 2009 MBP and I have dial-up service. What do I need to buy in order to connect to my dial-up internet? Can I use a router to share the internet even if it's dial-up?
     
  2. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #2
    Yes you should be able to.

    All routers do is take in packets from your modem and transmit them wirelessly via the WiFi protocol.
     
  3. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
  4. ET3SW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    I chuckled with that!
     
  5. moonwalk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #5
    The answer to your question is you need one of these: an Apple USB modem:

    http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MA034Z-External-V-2-Modem/dp/B000C6TLDO

    Bad news is, this thread says it won't work in Lion:

    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_...sb-modem-not-working-in-lion-but-others-will/

    Support says it requires 32-bit mode in Lion:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4454
    32 bit mode required.

    On my new MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard, the modem works if I start with the 32-bit kernel.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3773

    Read more: http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_...orking-in-lion-but-others-will/#ixzz1eOohVJMG
     
  6. scissorband thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #7
    Does this mean I cannot utilize all the RAM on my MBP (4GB) since I have to use 32-bit mode while on the internet?
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    You can access all RAM in 32-bit mode. This isn't Windows!
     
  8. scissorband thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #9
    Ah...so then are there really no major setbacks in 32-bit mode as opposed to 64-bit?
     
  9. TWR Motorsport macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    #10
    Believe it or not there are still many places in the world which cannot get broadband....

    In the UN survey thingy only 58.3% of people in Europe are classified as Internet users.
    78.3% in North America...
     
  10. moonwalk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #11
    Well if you need to run your 16 terabyte 3D Maya rendering in the background while using your usb modem at 32 bit you might have some problems.

    Your real problem's going to be uploading that 16 TB file to the cloud when you're done! :)
     

Share This Page