Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slobizman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
I've got an external drive that was a Time Machine backup drive. It's at the police station as evidence for something and they will not let me take it back. However, they will let me come down and make a copy of it. I might only have one shot at this so I'm trying to think of the best way to do it successfully and quickly.

Can I just bring another external with me, my Macbook, and then copy the files from the Time Machine backup external drive to the other external drive? If so, what is the facility for doing this quickly? I'm kind of new at Macs and am unsure. I do not have an extra Mac that I can simply use Time Machine to restore to to replace it's contents.

Thanks so much!

johnnyi

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2007
Glasgow,UK
Hi

:Finder
:Applications
:Utilities
:Airport Utility
: Double Click the Time Capsule
: Disks
:Archive
Then connect your usb hard drive to it

Regards
Jonathan

slobizman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
So, when I plug the Time Machine External Drive into my macbook pro, even though it's not been used with this macbook before, it will recognize it?

Any guess as to how long the archive would take? Is it very slow?

Hi

:Finder
:Applications
:Utilities
:Airport Utility
: Double Click the Time Capsule
: Disks
:Archive
Then connect your usb hard drive to it

Regards
Jonathan

johnnyi

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2007
Glasgow,UK
oh what this is only when the time capsule is functional i guess it wont be working on a wireless network am i right ?.

Jonathan

slobizman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
The external drive is not a Time Capsule. It's a USB connected external hard drive backed up with Time Machine.

slobizman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008

johnnyi

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2007
Glasgow,UK