How do I create a local svn repository and use XCode 4 to interface to it.

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by DonRobb, Oct 17, 2011.

1. DonRobb macrumors newbie

I'm very new to Xcode 4. I would like to create a local svn repostory and use Xcode 4 to interface to it. In the past I have been a windows developer and am familar with svn and version control concepts. I have seen several tutorials. that all have to do with running svn server software on an actual server. Is this the only option for using XCode 4 with svn? In the windows eviroment I have always just used the menu's that get attached to the windows explorer when right clicking on folders when tortiose svn is installed. What I have usually done is create a repository on a shared mapped server drive and then I have been able to use my shared drive repository by entering in file:///pathtorepository as the url to the repository. Is there a way to do something similar on Mac with Xcode 4? Thanks to anyone who has a good answer or can point me to the documentation or a good tutorial that shows how to do this if it is possibe.

Kind regards,
    Don

2. szymczyk macrumors regular

If you're going to create a local repository with Xcode 4, I recommend using git. When you create a new project and pick a location to save the project, there is a checkbox to create a local git repository. That's the easiest way to create a local repository in Xcode 4.

If you want to use Subversion instead of git, open the Terminal and run the svnadmin create command to create the local repository. In Xcode open the Organizer and click the Repositories button at the top of the window. On the left side of the Organizer is a repository list. If the repository you created isn't in the list, click the + button in the lower left corner of the Organizer and choose Add Repository. From there you can name the repository and specify its location.

3. ChrisA macrumors G4