Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

salacious

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 15, 2011
hey guys i want to do a music video soon, im by no means a proffesional at creating graphics but il spend weeks trying to if i need it, i just wanted to create a speaker that folds out like the on in this music video, i have fcpx motion after affects and any other programme thats needed, here the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0fk6syQ7iY&ob=av2e at around 20 seconds is what im sort of after..

any clues please?

Thank you

handsome pete

macrumors 68000
Aug 15, 2008
The example from the video posted could feasibly be done with something like After Effects, but you'd probably be better off with a 3D modeling program to truly get the 3D effect.

I'd really try learning the basics of these programs first before you try to do any specific effects you want.

Policar

macrumors 6502a
Nov 21, 2004
The example from the video posted could feasibly be done with something like After Effects...

How? After Effects only supports planar 3D. The speakers are clearly animated and rendered in a 3D suite. If you can do this in AE, you're the top artist out there.

The "flat" elements suspended in midair could be done with After Effects and boujou, however.

I think you'd need Maya, Cinema 4D, XSI, Studio Max, (Blender?) or the like, as well as Boujou or pftrack or something to produce the effects done in this video. It looks pretty difficult; based on work we've farmed out the effects budget probably ran between $20,000 and $100,0000.