How do I figure out if mini is 64 bit?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by beerpig, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. beerpig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo mac mini running Mac OS 10.5.7 and would like to download MySQL 5.1. The problem is I need to pick one of two downloads based on my computer:

    Option 1: Mac OS X 10.5(x86)

    Option 2: Mac OS X 10.5(x86_64)

    How do I figure out which one I need for my computer? I've gone to "About This Mac" in the apple menu but there are no 86's or 64's listed and I don't know what these numbers are referring to in particular.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Technically all Core2Duos are 64bit internally with an exception of the very first release but I think it's only 32bit due to the onboard chipset that Apple used.
     
  4. beerpig thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #4
    thanks

    thanks for the speedy replies! I went ahead and downloaded the one with the 64 in the title and things seem to be working fine.
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #5
    Only the Core 2 Duos and Mac Pros.
     
  6. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #6
    All G5 powered models, Core 2 Duo powered models and Mac Pros.

    If it has a G4, Core Solo or Core Duo its 32-bit.
     
  7. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #7
    Core 2 Duo chips are 64 bit, Core Duo and earlier Intel chips are not.
     
  8. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  9. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #9
    Makes you feel so special inside doesn't it? I Really hate people who have attitudes like this...
     
  10. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    What, people that can't take the time to read and see the correct answer has already been posted a few days prior? Yeah, they can be annoying.
     
  11. CaptainJeff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Elkridge, Maryland; USA
    #11
    Note that while the G5 was a 64-bit architected chip, it is a PowerPC chip and not an Intel (x86) chip. As the original poster asked specifically about x86 or x86_64, this may be misleading.

    Also, the Core Duo actually had the EMT64/x64 64-bit extensions that the Core 2 Duo and following processors have (the 64-bitness), but they were disabled in hardware (discussion here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=179734)
     
  12. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #12
    I listed all 64-bit machines just to be thorough.
     
  13. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #13
    Not all Core 2 Duo Macs are completely 64-bit.
     
  14. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #14
    Only as far as how much ram they can physically take.
     

Share This Page