How do I find out which screen my iMac has?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sir Ruben, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #1
    Nothing wrong with my screen, just curious to know if its an LG, Samsung etc.

    Found a command line on the web for Terminal but when I hit return it just comes up with another blank line and no info.

    So how do I do it? Hit me up!
     
  2. Fez Vrasta, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

    Fez Vrasta macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #2
    Code:
    ioreg -lw0 | grep "EDID" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r
    Look at the beginning of the last line to see which manufacturer made your display. If it starts with LP then you have an LG display. Samsung displays start with LSN

    Or try this out:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=20568681&postcount=6

    Mine is 0000A022 and is Samsung so.
     
  3. mgb1120 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #3
    Mine says 0000AE03 is that samsung?

    And it's the good screen very very minimal backlight bleed
     
  4. Fez Vrasta macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #4
    Are you sure you copied the model? I can't find anything searching it.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    It is correct, mine is the same. I've always assumed an LG panel.
     
  6. mgb1120 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
  7. Genkakuzai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #7
    Hmm for some reason neither of the tricks "work" for me. At least I can't seem to find any info on the model 0000B005. And the terminal command gives me nothing of value (worked like a charm on my MBP). Could it have anything to do with me having had my screen replaced (through warranty)?
     
  8. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #8
    The terminal trick has never worked for me either, both on my iMac and 13" rMBP.
     
  9. dyt1983, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #9
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  10. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #10
    Pretty sure my Retina iMac has a discrete GPU :)

    ----------

    Oh ok :)
     
  11. Genkakuzai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #11
    Well I clearly do ^^ But yeah, doesn't seem to work for some reason. A tad bit annoying :)
     
  12. dyt1983, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #12
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  13. Genkakuzai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #13
    Oh I'm sorry, I honestly had no idea iMac's were even available with integrated graphics. IIRC the 27" model wasn't when I bought mine, could certainly be wrong though. Anyhow, I've got the GTX 775M 2GB.
     
  14. dyt1983, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #14
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    You figured correctly, there isn't a 27" with integrated GPU, only the more recent low-end 21.5" models.
     
  16. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #16
    The 775M is an Nvidia GPU.
     
  17. dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #17
    My bad.
     
  18. dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #18
    Ah, I should have read the whole thread. You did get the info for your display, so it did work on yours. If the manufacturer is 00000610, wouldn't that correspond to the manufacturer? Or are those generic? (if you don't want to peep the EDID you can view it under color profiles)
     
  19. dyt1983, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #19
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  20. Genkakuzai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #20
    Nopes the terminal command didn't give me anything of value at all, what I did find (0000B005) was in the color profile, but I can't seem to get any wiser with that info, sadly. It worked like a charm on my MacBook Pro however.
     

Share This Page