How do I fix Error 1600 when Jailbreaking my 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MasterChief, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. MasterChief macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    I got 4.0 this morning and then tried the jailbreak, but I keep getting this error 1600 message.

    Does anyone know how to fix this? I need to sell the phone jailbroken tomorrow! Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Imsuperjp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #2
    Did you get 4.0 through iTunes and what are you using to jailbreak?
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    We need more info in order to help you:

    1. What is your current firmware?
    2. What is your bootrom (old or new)?
    3. What's your jailbreak status?
    4. If jailbroken, how did you jailbreak?
    5. How are you trying to jailbreak your phone?
     
  4. ExnomenDei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #4
    I'm going out on a limb here: Don't use DFU mode, use Recovery mode.

    (turn off the iPhone, hold Home and connect USB cable, an iTunes logo shows up. Process normally.)
     
  5. MasterChief thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #5
    Hey thanks for helping me out. I'm on firmware 4.0 with the old bootrom. It was upgraded from 3.1.2 to 4.0. It's not currenly jailbroken and hasn't been since the 3.0 jailbreak.

    Need any other info?
     
  6. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #6
    If you have your 3.1.2 SHSH you can downgrade to 3.1.2, jailbreak with redsn0w, then upgrade to a custom 4.0 firmware made with PwnageTool. If you do not have your 3.1.2 SHSH saved, then there is currently no way to jailbreak your phone.

    In the future you should always check the jailbreak situation before you upgrade your phone. Upgrading first and asking later can make a jailbreakable phone un-jailbreakable.
     
  7. MasterChief thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
    Thanks for your help. And I usually do check before jailbreaking but I forgot to change my carrier settings to the next iteration for my néw iPhone tomorrow. Cortana 3 should be Cortana 4 tomorrow. Hopefully I can find a previous firmware to downgrade to. How would I go about downgrading?

    Thanks so much for the help
     
  8. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
  9. eshiku macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #9
    doesnt seem like there is a solution yet. i tried restoring custom 4.0 firmware on 2 iphone 3gs, both have the 1604 error. one it JB with blackra1n on 3.1.2 (5.11 baseband) and the other is a clean 3.1.3 (5.12 baseband)
     
  10. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #10
    What sucks is that I had it all set up, pwned and fully unlocked, then I tried to erase from settings and all this. blah
     
  11. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #11
    Are you in recovery or DFU mode when you trying to restore your custom 4.0

    Edit: The one on 3.1.3 will not be able to take a custom IPSW for 4.0
     
  12. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #12
    I went from 3.1.3 to pwned 4.0 yesterday, no problem. How's that? Color me confused
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    Never do that on a jailbroken phone. It's asking for trouble.

    You went from pwned 3.1.3 to pwned 4.0. You can't go from an unpwned 3.1.3 to a pwned 4.0. If you have 3.1.2 SHSH on file you can downgrade to 3.1.2, pwn with redsn0w, then upgrade with a pwned 4.0. There is no way to pwn at 3.1.3.
     
  14. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #14
    You can't go from a clean (I assume clean is unjailbroke and possibly never JB) 3.1.3 to a pwned 4.0. If people gave more solid information on their individual situations we would have to assume such things less..
     
  15. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #15
    Actually, I'd previous jb (spirit), but since restored and was running what I thought was a totally clean copy of 3.1.3. Then restored to a pwnage tool 4.0 .ipsw build and it worked fine. I'm not sure how, then, but I'd sure like to do it again. I messed it up doing that whole erase business, and the only way to get out of that was to restore to 3.1.3 (which I finally did successfully). Now I need to get back to unlocked 4.0
     
  16. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #16
    After looking through you recent posts, I go back to my original argument. lack of information. Look at the title of this thread again and tell me what phone the OP has then look at the back of yours. Theres your explanation.
     
  17. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #17
    Apologies, I was focused more on the error 1600. Didn't realize it meant different things for the 3g and the 3gs. Sorry for the hijack op
     
  18. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #18
    Most times 16xx errors are because you are in DFU mode when you should be in recovery, that's universal for all models.
     
  19. eshiku macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #19
    trying the 3.1.2 3GS still. when in DFU mode it gives "1600" and Recovery mode it gives "1604"

    still trying...
     
  20. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #20
    I'm getting the same thing, actually. I may try to jailbreak in Windows and see if I get anywhere that way.
     
  21. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #21
    Is your phone pwned? You can't upgrade to a custom firmware unless your phone is pwned.
     
  22. eshiku macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #22
    jailbroken with blackra1n
     
  23. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #23
    Is your phone in recovery mode (iTunes and USB logo on screen) when you try to restore to your custom 4.0?
     
  24. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #24
    Probably, but I'm getting the same thing and I know mine is in recovery mode. I think the issue is I jailbroke with Spirit on 3.1.3 last time. I'm downgrading to 3.1.2, jailbreaking using Pwnage custom and then going from there. Hopefully it will work now.
     
  25. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #25
    If your trying to go from spirit to pwned 4 then yeah it isn't going to work. If you have SHSH's on file for 3.1.2 downgrade, redsn0w then restore to your custom iOS 4.
     

Share This Page