How do I fix this?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by The General, May 3, 2007.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    [​IMG]


    I have tried sudo diskutil resizeVolume disk1s2 250G and sudo diskutil resizeVolume disk1s2 232.9G but they both return this:

    Code:
    Mac-Pro:~ Ted$ sudo diskutil resizeVolume disk1s2 250G
    Password:
    Started resizing on disk disk1s2 Macintosh HD
    Verifying
    Resizing Volume
    
    Resizing encountered error The chosen size is not valid for the chosen filesystem (-9962) on disk disk1s2 Macintosh HD
    Mac-Pro:~ Ted$
    Also, does anybody know why, at random, my startup disk changes back and forth between disk0s2 and disk1s2?

    I have:

    Bay1: 250GB
    Bays3-4: 750GB in RAID0
     
  2. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    All "250GB" hard drives are actually less than that. HD makers and Apple (and the entire computer industry) use the term "gigabyte" to mean 10^9 bytes when it's actually 2^30 bytes (somewhat smaller).

    diskXsX is an arbitrary naming convention that is dynamically created by the kernel and not necessarily stable. Kind of like in Windows where if you've got an E: drive and you add another drive, E might get bumped to F.
     
  3. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #3
    I think his point is that his 250Gb disk (which is only really 232.9Gb) is only showing a capacity of 116Gb
     
  4. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    It looks like you partitioned that drive and there's a huge empty unformatted partition with the Mac HD one on the same drive.
     
  5. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #5
    There's a Debian disk image in that screenshot - does that create its own partition on that drive? Could that be the missing space?
     
  6. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    There's also a disk image of the march 2007 eth0 release of xp pro oem with sp2+updates...(outdated!!)...(arrrrrrr ;) )

    Just a disk image. Disk Utility lists them when you burn them, nothing more...
     
  7. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #7
    Sure, but my point is the existence of the disk image indicates he may have installed Debian. And if he's installed Debian, the process might have included setting up a disk partition (as you suggested) that he has since forgotton about.

    (I've never used it, so I don't know the specifics of the install).
     
  8. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    well...i'm guessing if it was partitioned and formatted, it would show up in disk utility anyway as disk1s3 or something, whatever.

    Fastest way to check is to look at the partition table...tab...thing for the volume.

    On a sidenote, "diskutil list" would also be useful...
     
  9. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #9
    nice hard drives you got there, what are they? External or internal? usb or something else?
     
  10. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    They are all internal. I have a 320GB MyBook anda 500GB MyBook externals.

    But yeah, lol... I installed Windows then removed it, then I installed Debian and removed it. I couldn't get GRUB to work right. It works just fine in Ubuntu but I hate Ubuntu. :(

    Here's a bit more info:

    Code:
    Mac-Pro:~ Ted$ diskutil list
    /dev/disk0
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:  GUID_partition_scheme                    *698.6 GB disk0
       1:                    EFI                    200.0 MB  disk0s1
       2:             Apple_RAID                    698.3 GB  disk0s2
       3:             Apple_Boot Boot OSX           128.0 MB  disk0s3
    /dev/disk1
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:  GUID_partition_scheme                    *232.9 GB disk1
       1:                    EFI                    200.0 MB  disk1s1
       2:              Apple_HFS Macintosh HD       116.0 GB  disk1s2
    /dev/disk2
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:              Apple_HFS Storage            *2.0 TB   disk2
    /dev/disk3
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:  GUID_partition_scheme                    *698.6 GB disk3
       1:                    EFI                    200.0 MB  disk3s1
       2:             Apple_RAID                    698.3 GB  disk3s2
       3:             Apple_Boot Boot OSX           128.0 MB  disk3s3
    /dev/disk4
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:  GUID_partition_scheme                    *698.6 GB disk4
       1:                    EFI                    200.0 MB  disk4s1
       2:             Apple_RAID                    698.3 GB  disk4s2
       3:             Apple_Boot Boot OSX           128.0 MB  disk4s3
    Mac-Pro:~ Ted$ 
    [​IMG]

    I wasn't sure if "G" refered to "1 billion bytes" or "1024MB" ... yet this section of your post doesn't say which it refers to.

    I never move or add or remove the drives. They are stationary.

    disk0sX should always be whatever drive is in bay 1.
    disk1sX should always be whatever drive is in bay 2.
    disk2sX should always be whatever drive is in bay 3.
    disk3sX should always be whatever drive is in bay 4.
     
  11. MacAnkka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    I was in a pretty similiar situation once. I had repartitioned my HDD with Bootcamp, installed Windows, then replaced it with Ubuntu and then deleted it. The result was that I had a HD with a 45gb partition for the Mac and 10gb of unformatted. I managed to get rid of it without reformatting by using the Ubuntu Live CD and using it's disk tool to format the unformatted area in to FAT32 (I suppose the OSX's own disk tool could do it, too). After that, I rebooted to OS X and strated the Bootcamp application. It asked if I wanted to delete the Windows partition (eg. the FAT32 partition) and resize the OSX partition to fill the whole disk.

    Without formatting the unformatted area in to FAT32, bootcamp refused to do anything, btw.
     
  12. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #12
    You should be able to boot up off the OSX DVD, then resize/repartition/reformat that drive to get the free space back. If you have crucial stuff on that drive, I'd recommend backing up onto a disk image, then restoring it afterwards.
     
  13. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    Bump. :(

    I've tried Carbon Copy Cloner but it just makes my harddrive just how it was before ... I can't resizeVolume and I can't partition it because it erases the harddrive!

    Please help. :(
     
  14. Shanesan macrumors 6502

    Shanesan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #14
    Why not just copy everything on that drive onto all that storage space, then resize the partition, wiping it, and move it back when you're done?
     
  15. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #15
    It's my startup disk, I can't just copy the files. :(
     

Share This Page