How do I get an early iPhone 6?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by carves, Jul 16, 2014.

1. carves macrumors member

My 4S is ont it's last legs, but I'm holding out for the 6. I'm a student and still on my parent's account, who live in a different state.

What are my options for getting an iPhone 6 without waiting for months and months after it is available? Is there a way to preorder or something? I don't think waiting in front of the store would work because I'm not the primary on the account.

2. lelisa13p, Jul 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014

lelisa13p macrumors 68000

lelisa13p

Nobody can know the answer to this yet. Wait for the announcement just like everyone else. We're all in the same boat.

I pre-ordered my iPhone 5 and it was delivered on Launch Day. Last year we were unpleasantly surprised to find that pre-ordering was not allowed. This year is a toss-up. I hope there will be pre-ordering again but nobody knows yet.

3. madsci954 macrumors 68030

If they do preorders, get one in ASAP, which is like midnight to 3 am pacific the day they start.

But, since it's on your parents account, it will be shipped to them. You'll have to call Apple after it ships and have it rerouted to your address. I had to do that once when I was on AT&T. Worst case you get it a few days after it launches.

4. carves thread starter macrumors member

OK- so just ask my parents to place an order the first possible day and then have them ship it to me when they get it. If I place an order, say, 12-18 hours after opening does that generally push delivery back a few weeks?

5. Gathomblipoob macrumors 68040

Gathomblipoob

Does Apple still only ship to the purchaser's billing address when a new iPhone launches?

6. madsci954 macrumors 68030

When I did it last fall with the 5s on AT&T, yes.

7. Tyler23 macrumors 603

Tyler23